Sources for Data and Statistics
The United States Census Bureau
provides data about the nation’s people and economy. Every 10 years, it conducts the Population and Housing Census, in which every resident in the United States is counted. The agency also gathers data through more than 100 other surveys of households and businesses every one to five years. You can explore the results of the surveys or find popular quick facts.
These federal agency programs collect, analyze, and disseminate statistical data and information:
- Bureau of Economic Analysis collects information on economic indicators, national and international trade, accounts, and industry.
- Bureau of Justice Statistics reports on justice systems, crime, criminal offenders, and victims of crime.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics measures labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the U.S. economy.
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics provides data on airline on-time performance, pirates at sea, transportation safety and availability, motorcycle trends, and more.
- Census Bureau is the main source of data about our nation's people and economy.
- DAP Public Dashboard provides a window into how people are interacting with the government online.
- Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government's open data. Find federal, state, and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.
- Economic Research Service informs public and private decision making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development.
- Energy Information Administration provides data on U.S. use of coal, natural gas, nuclear energy, renewable energy, and more.
- Internal Revenue Service Tax Statistics examine tax returns to report on such things as sources of income, exemptions, use of medical savings accounts, migration, and geographic data, tax information on foreign corporations controlled by U.S. parent corporations, exports, international boycotts, and investments and activities in the U.S. by foreign persons.
- National Agricultural Statistical Service researches data on food production and supply, organic sales, chemical use, demographics of U.S. producers, and more. Every five years it conducts the Census of Agriculture that provides agricultural data for every county in the United States.
- National Center for Education Statistics researches education in the United States. It publishes the Digest of Education Statistics, which includes international comparisons of students, and the annual report to Congress, The Condition of Education, which reports the progress of American education.
- National Center for Health Statistics is the principal health statistics agency for improving the health of the American people.
- National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics publishes data on the American science and engineering workforce and the progress of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education in the United States.
- Office of Personnel Management provides statistics on the Federal civilian workforce through data sources such as FedScope.
- Social Security Administration Office of Research Evaluation and Statistics offers data on social security program benefits, payments, covered workers, and more.
- USAspending.gov is the official source for spending data for the U.S. government. Learn about the size of the federal budget, and how the government spends that money on a national level and around the country.
You can also search a federal agency's website to see what types of statistical information it provides. Find the U.S. government department or agency you want to search.