eHRAF is an online cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, full text collection of news articles from publications of the minority, ethnic, and native press. The database is searchable in both English and Spanish, covering 240 periodical titles in both languages.
DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
CIAO is a unique and valuable archive and cross-searchable library of full-text articles from government research organizations, independent think tanks, university analysis centers, and scholarly journals. The material in CIAO encompasses working papers, policy briefs, and current analysis and commentary, as well as scholarly journal articles, e-books, and videos.
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the World Bank's premier compilation of cross-country comparable data on development. The World Development Indicators is a compilation of relevant, high-quality, and internationally comparable statistics about global development and the fight against poverty.
The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the official and trusted source of internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication. As the official statistical agency of UNESCO, the UIS produces a wide range of indicators in UNESCO’s fields of action by working with national statistical offices, line ministries and other statistical organizations.
PRB promotes and supports evidence-based policies, practices, and decision-making to improve the health and well-being of people throughout the world. Includes data indicators for the United States and World.
This report describes BJS's most recent data on human trafficking. It details ongoing and completed efforts to measure and analyze the nationwide incidence of human trafficking, to describe characteristics of human trafficking victims and offenders, and to describe criminal justice responses to human trafficking offenses.
ICSD serves as a clearinghouse for information on international social development. The Consortium fosters collaboration among personnel of organizations such as the United Nations, World Bank, UNESCO, and UNICEF as well as among professional associations in the human services and institutions of higher learning.
The International Council on Social Welfare (ICSW) is a non-governmental organization focused on advocacy, knowledge-building and technical assistance projects in various areas of social development carried out at the country level and internationally.
International Social Work is a scholarly peer reviewed journal designed to extend knowledge and promote communication in the fields of social development, social welfare and human services. Its major focus is on international themes in the delivery of services
The International Journal of Social Welfare publishes original articles in English on social welfare and social work that focus on contemporary social issues such as poverty and inequality, child welfare, health, mental health, migration and immigrants, and aging.
The International Journal of Social Work Values and Ethics examines the ethical and values issues that affect and are interwoven with social work practice, research, and theory development. The IJSWVE addresses ethical and values issues that encompass the full range of social problems and issues that social workers encounter. The journal provides necessary historical perspectives on the development of social work values and ethics and presents articles examining values and ethical dilemmas stemming from state-of-the-art developments.
Handbook of International Social Work by Lynne M. Healy (Editor); Rosemary J. Link (Editor)Global knowledge is increasingly essential for all aspects of social work. Today's professionals respond to concerns including permeable borders, the upheavals of war, displaced workers, natural disasters, international adoption, and human trafficking. Everywhere, social workers work with service users and colleagues from diverse cultures and countries. Globally relevant concepts such as human rights, development, and inclusion offer new perspectives to enhance policy and practice and facilitate the international exchange of ideas. This handbook is the first major reference text to provide a solid foundation of knowledge for students and researchers alike. The extensive collection of 73 chapters confirms the integral and necessary nature of international social work knowledge to all areas of practice, policy, and research. Chapters systematically map the key issues, organizations, competencies, training and research needs, and ethical guidelines central to international social work practice today, emphasizing the linkages among social work, development, and human rights practice. In-depth country case studies and policy examples encourage readers to understand how their practice in social work touches on international issues, regardless of whether the work is done at home or abroad. Representing all regions of the world, a wide range of contributors that are leaders in their fields have put together an exhaustive collection that represents the state-of-play of international social work today.
Call Number: HV40.35 .H36 2012
Publication Date: 2011-10-20
Immigrants and Social Work by Diane Drachman; Ana PaulinoExplore an understudied but vital aspect of the immigration experience! Until now, the American social work literature on immigration has emphasized one part of the migration process--the experiences of immigrants in this country. Country-of-origin experiences that lead to emigration have received limited attention. Immigrants and Social Work: Thinking Beyond the Borders of the United States expands the focus of the literature, drawing clear connections between immigrants' situations in their countries of origin and how they adapt to their new country. This book presents a two (or more)country perspective on immigration, looking at migration as a process that requires an understanding of phenomena that occur in immigrants' country of origin and that impact their lives in the United States. It also looks at immigrants' back-and-forth movements between their home and new countries, and examines the immigration process when it involves movement to a third or fourth country--or, as in the case of the Armenian diaspora, a return to the home country after years of settlement in a new land. To provide immigrants with effective social services, it is essential to understand the situations that prompted them to uproot their lives and start over in a new country. Immigrants and Social Work: Thinking Beyond the Borders of the United States provides an unflinching look at many of these country-of-origin issues, examining: mental health issues that result from the traumatic experiences of undocumented Mexican immigrants the essential link between international social work and social work with immigrants and refugees in the United States cross-national collaboration between educators in the United States and Armenia that is helping to provide vital services to Armenian refugees the phenomenon of return migration the migration experiences of women living in towns along the United States/Mexico border culturally competent mental health service delivery for Chinese immigrants circular migration between Puerto Rico and the United States the challenges facing impoverished Dominican immigrants to the United States--and a look at the relationship between the two countries' policies regarding migration Immigrants and Social Work: Thinking Beyond the Borders of the United States is important reading for social work professionals who serve immigrant populations. It is also an ideal ancillary text for courses in international social work, family policy, social work with immigrants and refugees, child welfare, and social work practice with families, as well as any social work course that covers Chinese, Mexican, Armenian, Puerto Rican, or Dominican immigrant populations. Make it a part of your teaching/professional collection today.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
The Palgrave Handbook of Global Social Work Education by S. M. Sajid (Editor); Rajendra Baikady (Editor); Cheng Sheng-Li (Editor); Haruhiko Sakaguchi (Editor)This handbook addresses the issues and challenges of the delivery of social work education in the contemporary world. It provides an authoritative overview of the key debates, switching the lens away from a Western-centric focus to engage with a much broader audience in countries that are in the process of modernization and professionalization, alongside those where social work education is more developed. Chapters tackle major challenges with respect to curriculum, teaching, practice, and training in light of globalization, providing a thorough examination of the practice of social work in diverse contexts. This handbook presents a contribution to the process of knowledge exchange which is essential to global social work education. It brings together professional knowledge and lived experience, both universal and local, and aims to be an essential reference for social work educators, researchers, and students.