LibGuides: HS 359: The Holocaust: Articles

Access to Databases

All Monmouth University students, faculty and staff have access to subscription databases on campus.

Remote access to databases requires entry of username and password (same as email) for verification.

Many databases provide full text access to journals. However, you can use the GET ARTICLE icon to search for full text coverage of the title you need in one of the other databases. If no access is available, you can request and Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for the materials which takes 1-2 weeks.

ILL request form.

Journal Locator

Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to a journal or periodical.

Best Bets for Articles on the Holocaust

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal literature. 1878 + Last several years not included.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America.

Additional Databases

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

Newspapers

Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
The largest historical newspaper database online, contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1759 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content.
NexisUni (LexisNexis)
Comprehensive source for current news (international, national and regional), legal research (cases and statutes, law reviews, news), business research (news, company information), medical information (news, journal articles, Medline abstracts) and basic reference tools.
IMPORTANT UPDATE
As of July 1, 2024 Nexis Uni will no longer be available.
- For company dossiers and company information, use Hoover's Company Profiles in Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest), Reference USA, or Westlaw's Company Investigator,
- For Business news use Wall Street Journal or ABI/INFORM Complete,
- For legislation information use CQ Congress Collection,
- For political news use New York Times, or US Newsstream (ProQuest),
- For US publications and government documents use HeinOnline or Westlaw,
- For legal research and court cases use Westlaw, GovInfo, HeinOnline or Google Scholar,
- For university news use The Chronicle of Higher Education,
- For law reviews and law journals use Westlaw, HeinOnline, or ProQuest Central.
New York Times Historical: 1851-2019 This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page digital reproductions of every page (images and articles) from every issue, cover to cover, from the New York Times in downloadable PDF files.

HawkFind

Searching Tips

Use the word "AND" to combine your keywords to make your search more specific.

eg. holocaust AND poland

Use synonyms and alternative terms Related terms - broader or narrower - will also bring up relevant results. eg. teenagers | adolescents | youth

Use Truncation "*" to search for words with common roots without entering them individually. eg. searching for teen* retrieves teen, teens, teenaged, teenagers

Restrict searches to academic, peer-reviewed journals

Popular vs Trade vs Scholarly

Popular

Trade

Scholarly

· Colorful covers

· Glossy paper

· Ads

· Articles on current

events

· General interest

· Short articles

· Written by general staff

· Reviewed by general

editor

· No bibliographies

or footnotes

· Usually called magazine

· Glossy

· Ads

· Articles on industry

trends

· Short articles

· Written for members

of specific industry

· Written by staff or

experts in the field

· Short or no

bibliographies

· Plain cover, plain paper

· No ads

· Primary research, theories, methodologies

· Lengthy, in-depth articles

· Written for researchers &

professionals

· Written by experts in the

field & researchers

· Peer review by subject

experts

· Extensive bibliographies &

references