LibGuides: HS 101: Europe in the Age of the Enlightenment: Periodicals (Print & Online)

Introduction

England's Charles II, the "Merry Monarch"

Databases, listed on the right, will lead you to peer-reviewed journals, specific to the study of Europe during the 17th and early 18th century. Please note that articles published in peer-reviewed journals are reviewed by experts and rigorously vetted before publication. Popular magazines, such as the ones found on magazine racks of large booksellers or published on Google, are not peer-reviewed.

Access to peer-reviewed materials is possible only through academic affiliation; i.e.,undergraduates, graduates, and faculty.

Popular vs Scholarly Sources

Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals

Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A large collection of online reference books on diverse subjects. A useful starter resource. Especially recommended is Science in the Enlightenment: An Encyclopedia
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal literature. 1878 + Last several years not included.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907-1984 (HW Wilson) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high quality indexing going back as far as 1907. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text database of many scholarly journals in history, political science and literature. 1993+
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General database recommended for finding scholarly articles in most disciplines. 1975+. A search using the keywords "renaissance Europe" yielded 237 results.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular articles on various subjects. 1971+. A searchstring "Europe (location) AND Renaissance period" yielded 538 documents.

Spotlighted Scholarly Journals

Devoted to historical analysis from a global point of view, the Journal of World History features a range of comparative and cross-cultural scholarship and encourages research on forces that work their influences across cultures and civilizations. Themes examined include large-scale population movements and economic fluctuations; cross-cultural transfers of technology; the spread of infectious diseases; long distance trade; and the spread of religious faiths, ideas, and ideals

Restoration publishes new work in the field of English letters, arts, culture and society from 1660-1700.