LibGuides: EDC 505: Counseling Ethics & Practice: Articles

Suggested Journals

Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to a journal or periodical.

Need help? Check out the Journal Locator Tutorial.

Google Scholar

If you try searching Google Scholar below, you may find some scholarly full-text materials available for free. You can also check to see if we have them for free via one of our research databases. Go to Journal Locator and type in the journal title in which the article was published. For help using Journal Locator, view our tutorial.

Best Databases for Educational Counseling

SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in sociology and related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, social development, social psychology, social work, and socio-cultural anthropology. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A highly specialized collection of education journals including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles and over 200 educational reports.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from books, articles and documents from the Education Resources Information Center, funded by the U.S. Department of Education. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

HawkFind

Evaluating Resources

Popular

Trade

Scholarly

· Colorful covers

· Glossy paper

· Ads

· Articles on current

events

· General interest

· Short articles

· Written by general staff

· Reviewed by general

editor

· No bibliographies

or footnotes

· Usually called magazine

· Glossy

· Ads

· Articles on industry

trends

· Short articles

· Written for members

of specific industry

· Written by staff or

experts in the field

· Short or no

bibliographies

· Plain cover, plain paper

· No ads

· Primary research, theories, methodologies

· Lengthy, in-depth articles

· Written for researchers &

professionals

· Written by experts in the

field & researchers

· Peer review by subject

experts

· Extensive bibliographies &

references