It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EDC 505: Counseling Ethics & Practice: Books
This guide provides resources for the EDC505-Counseling Ethics & Practice course.
Use the MU Catalog to find books in the library on educational counseling.
Google Books Search
To locate books on the web, you can try searching Google Books below. They will not necessarily be available in our library, but you can request them via Interlibrary Loan by filling out the online form. Check the MU Catalog first!
Books in the MU Library
The Oxford Handbook of Social Class in Counseling by William Ming Liu (Editor)Social class is a pervasive facet of all lives, regardless of one's own social class and status. One would think its ubiquity would make it necessary for all helping professionals to understand social class and discuss it in therapy and research. Yet social class and classism are one of themost confusing and difficult concepts to understand and integrate into research and counseling practice - mostly due to the relative lack of psychological theories, research, and quantitative data.Fulfiling this need, this handbook summarizes and synthesizes available research on social class and classism in counseling practice and research areas. The 32 chapters included offer up-to-date, fascinating, and provocative applications of social class and classism, as seasoned chapter authorsprovide an overview of theories related to social class and classism and its application toward research, education, training, and practice. Chapters include comprehensive coverage of:* lifespan issues related to social class, such as unique aspects of social class and classism in the lives of children, adolescents, and older adults* how social class is studied and empirically understood through research, assessment, and practice* implications of social class in career counseling, psychological assessment and diagnosis, and the therapy relationship* how social class is implicated in positive psychology, career and work psychology, and health psychology* social class and classism and its connection to whiteness, racism, sexual orientation, religion and spirituality, and social justiceThis book offers the first compendium of counseling related resources on social class and classism and will be a comprehensive, must-have reference for professionals and academics in counseling psychology and related fields for years to come.
Call Number: BF636.7.C76 O944 2013
Leadership, Advocacy, and Direct Service Strategies for Professional School Counselors by Rachelle Pérusse; Gary E. GoodnoughThis book is designed to help school counseling students envision how a comprehensive developmental program flows from a review of the literature. Once they see several examples of how to implement a prevention/intervention program in a school system, students could then use the book as a model to develop their own prevention/intervention strategies based on the literature and current thought in the field. In each of the chapters, experts in the school counseling field provide details on how school counselors can transform theory and school counseling literature into workable plans within the context of the National Model for School Counseling Programs, the National Standards for School Counseling Programs, and the Transforming School Counseling Initiative.
Call Number: LB1027.5 .L42 2004
Counseling Strategies That Work! by Richard D. ParsonsCounseling Strategies that Work targets the unique, day-to-day problems encountered by today's school counselor and provides a new perspective on treatment selection. nbsp; This text is an anthology of intervention strategies that are rooted in scientific evidence supporting their effectiveness when applied to the day-to-day "problems" confronting today's school counselor. It is an excellent source for counseling techniques courses or as a reading assigned as part of their field placement experiences, as well as a useful reference text for all those currently employed as school counselors. Every chapter provides a blending of theory, practice and guided, personalized application. The content is broken down succinctly, beginning with a brief introduction to the nature of the problems being addressed before delving into a detailed presentation with case illustration of the application of an intervention strategy. nbsp; Each chapter includes: A brief introduction to the nature of the problems being addressed. Precis of sample research supporting a specific intervention technique. Detailed presentation with case illustration of the application of the intervention strategy. A listing of clinical recommendations for direct application. A list of web based and literature based resources of additional material.
Call Number: LB1027.5 .P3177 2007
Creative Approaches for Counseling Individual Children in the School Setting by Diane SennThis book provides 100+ creative activities for helping the child and the problem. In individual counselling with children, we need to connect with the child, gather information about the child and their needs, explore the problem, implement and create a plan together, and then assess if the plan is working. Various contact forms, referrals, feedback forms, and information gathering activities are included along with activities to assist in understanding and dealing with the problem. In addition, creative activities are shared to deal with specific problem areas of: Feelings; Self-Concept; Friendship; Academic Support; Behavior; Divorce; and Death.
Call Number: LB1027.5 .S378 2006
The ASCA national model workbook: A companion guide to implementing a comprehensive school counseling