MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EN 470: Theory & Practice of Writing: Find Articles

Professor Sacks

Breakout Room Activity 1

Use the links in the "Spotlighted Scholarly Journals" box to search within journals to find an article on your topic.

Breakout Room Activity 2

Use the links from the "Databases" box below to search for articles on your topic. Use the following approaches:

  • Keyword and thesaurus searching in ERIC 
  • Keyword and thesaurus searching in ProQuest Education 
  • Keyword searching in JSTOR

Journal Locator

Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to a journal or periodical.

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find something you need?  The interlibrary loan service can obtain the books or articles you are looking for.

Spotlighted Scholarly Journals

Search All Library Resources at Once: HawkFind

           Advanced Search


  
Scholarly & Peer Reviewed   Beyond Library Collection
  
Advanced Search
   

Databases

ERIC Thesaurus

The ERIC thesaurus is a tool that allows the user to determine the best search terms to use for a given search.  For example, ERIC does not recognize "elementary students" as a major search term.  It prefers "Elementary School Students."  It does not recognize "writing theory" as a search term; it prefers, for example, "writing process movement."  It does recognize "writing across the curriculum" and "writing assessment."  But it prefers "writing development" over "writing acquisition."  (The MLA Bibliography also has a thesaurus.) 

You can get results using "natural language," that is, your own search terms, but the use of the database's preferred terms tends to yield results that are more targeted. 

Search Tips

Use “Advanced Search” to build your searches. Put each concept into its own search box.

Use quotation marks when searching for specific phrases.

If you're not getting back enough results, add synonyms or related terms to each box using “OR.”

If you can’t think of additional keywords, do a general Google search for your term or use the database's thesaurus or index to find related terms. 

If you're getting back too many results, use the database thesaurus or subject index to search for the most relevant results.

Check for Peer-Review

Not sure if a particular journal is peer-reviewed? Check out Ulrichsweb. This database (also found in the A-Z database list from "Quick Links" on the library website) provides detailed information on publications. Look for the referee icon to indicate it is a peer-reviewed journal.

The black and white “ref jersey” icon below indicates that Higher Education is a peer-reviewed journal, but Education Week is not.