It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ED 250/510: Psychological and Philosophical Foundations of Education: Find Books
Key Concepts in Childhood Studies by Allison James; Adrian L. JamesThis book has already proved itself as a course adoption leader in Childhood Studies.All of the strengths of the First Edition have been retained. The book is comprehensive and judged with the needs of students in mind. It is a model of clarity and precision and has been acknowledged as such in reviews and course feedback.The new edition thoroughly revises old entries and adds new ones. The book is the most accessible, relevant student introduction to this expanding, interdisciplinary field. It is an indispensable teaching text and an ideal prompt for researchers.
Call Number: HQ767.9 .J36 2012
Publication Date: 2012-07-31
Uneven Space-Times of Education by Julie McLeod (Editor); Noah W. Sobe (Editor); Terri Seddon (Editor)This latest volume in the World Yearbook of Education Series considers changing space-times of education by asking how they become unevenly textured as our worlds globalise, horizons shift and familiar points of reference melt and are remade. Acknowledging the reach of economic and cultural change, digital communication, geopolitics and persistent inequalities, the chapters trace processes that are re-making education and societies. Examining the depth of their impact on practices, methods and concepts reveals the significance of knowledge-building and socially embedded forms of reasoning in emerging patterns of educational governance, pedagogic and policy reforms as well as in lived understandings of self and social worlds. The organisation of the collection into three sections ¿ Making Spaces, Troubling Temporalities, and Mobility and Contexts ¿ begins to map out an ambitious project. It calls on education researchers and professionals to write the present as history by grasping the socio-spatial, historical and political dimensions and effects that frame, form and filter the educational present. This research calls for a revitalised historical sociology and novel forms of comparative education that can provide productive insights, inform creative problem solving and suggest practical directions for education. This agenda recognises: the unevenness of educational space-times the making of education as a social institution the persistence and effects of social embeddedness, eventful space, situated knowledge, and geosocial thinking the present as history and multiple temporalities in education different registers of transformation that become visible through lenses such as identity, work, citizenship and mobility. The World Yearbook of Education 2018 continues the project of compiling worldwide research on globalising education. These volumes offer a powerful commentary on how and why space-times of education are changing and emphasise the importance of forms of knowledge that materialise categories of professionals, policies and practices. This volume will be of interest to academics, professionals and policymakers in education and social policy, and also to scholars who engage in historical studies of education and debates about the socio-material formations that contribute to educational inequalities and dynamics of difference.
Call Number: L101.G8 Y4 Vol.2018
Publication Date: 2017-12-06
Understanding Multicultural Education by Christine Rogers Stanton; Francisco RiosThe use of visualization techniques greatly enhances the understanding of quantum mechanics as it allows us to depict phenomena that cannot be seen by any other means. "Visual Quantum Mechanics" uses the computer generated animations found on theextra material on Springer Extrasto introduce, motivate, and illustrate the concepts explained in the book. For example, by watching QuickTime movies of the solutions of Schroedinger's equation, students will be able to develop a feeling for the behavior of quantum mechanical systems that cannot be gained by conventional means. While there are other books on the market that use Mathematica and Maple to teach quantum mechanics, this book differs in that the text describes the mathematical and physical ideas of quantum mechanics in the conventional manner, with no special emphasis on computational physics or the requirement that the reader know a symbolic computation package or Mathematica. In this book, instead, the computer is used to provide easy access to a large collection of animated illustrations, interactive pictures, and lots of supplementary materials. "Visual Quantum Mechanics" takes a mathematical rather than a physical approach to quantum mechanics, and includes results more typical in more advanced books but which are more comprehensible via visualization. Despite the presentations of advanced results, the book requires only calculus, and the book will fill the gap between classical quantum mechanics texts and mathematically advanced books. The book will have a home page at the author's institution (http: //www.kfunigraz.ac.at/imawww/vqm/) which will include supplementary material, exercises and solutions, additional animations, and links to other sites with quantum mechanical visualization. This book along with its extra materials on Springer Extras, which contains over 300 digital movies, form a complete introductory course on spinless particles in one and two dimensions. There is a second book in development which will cover such topics as spherical symmetry in three dimensions, the hydrogen atom, scattering theory and resonances, periodic potentials, particles with spin, an relativistic problems (the Dirac equation).
Publication Date: 2011-06-09
Finding Books at the MU Library
Searching with Subject Headings
Once you find a book on your topic, be sure to look at the book's subject heading. Clicking on this heading will take you to other books on your topic.
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children by Olivia N. Saracho (Editor); Bernard Spodek (Editor)The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children is the essential reference on research on early childhood education throughout the world. This singular resource provides a comprehensive overview of important contemporary issues as well as the information necessary to make informed judgments about these issues. The field has changed significantly since the publication of the second edition, and this third edition of the handbook takes care to address the entirety of vital new developments. A valuable tool for all those who work and study in the field¿of early childhood education, this volume addresses critical, cutting edge research on child development, curriculum, policy, and research and evaluation strategies. With a multitude of new and updated chapters, The Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children, 3rd Edition makes the expanding knowledge base related to early childhood education readily available and accessible.
Publication Date: 2012-08-09
Early Childhood Care and Education by Konstantinos Petrogiannis (Editor); Edward C. Melhuish (Editor)Throughout the world the number of working mothers with young children has continued to grow. This has important consequences for social policy decisions, particularly in the fields of parental leave, childcare and pre-school services provision. Some countries are far more successful at combining high quality early childhood services with high percentages of mothers in employment, whereas others continue to struggle. This edited volume examines the ways in which different countries across the world are tackling early childhood services and how these services affect young children¿s experiences and development, for better and worse. Some of the recurring questions of childcare provision are tackled, including: Is pre-school childcare detrimental to children? Does the quality of childcare matter? Why are some countries succeeding in providing quality childcare services, and others are not? How can we best organise parental leave, employment regulations and childcare provision?
Publication Date: 2006-10-30
Globalization of Education by Joel SpringContinuing Joel Spring¿s reportage and analysis of the intersection of global forces and education, this text offers a comprehensive overview and synthesis of current research, theories, and models related to the topic. Spring introduces readers to the processes, institutions, and forces by which schooling has been globalized and examines the impact of these forces on schooling in local contexts. Designed for courses on globalization and education, international and comparative education, educational foundations, multicultural education, and educational policy, the text is written in a clear narrative style to engage readers in thoughtful consideration of topics discussed. Each chapter includes "Key Points" that summarize the content and suggest issues and questions for critical analysis, discussion, and debate.
Publication Date: 2008-11-18
Schools by Sandra Mathison (Editor); E. Wayne Ross (Editor)No topic sparks an argument faster among the American public, even with relatively apolitical people, than how their children are taught. In schools across the country, school boards, parents, teachers, and students themselves debate issues ranging from charter schools, to the first amendment rights of students, to the efficacy of the No Child Left Behind Act. School districts in Georgia and Pennsylvania have seen battles over the teaching of evolution; places as diverse as Colorado, Washington, and Kentucky have had debates over how best to protect children while at school. Battleground: Schools provides an in-depth, balanced overview of these controversial topics and enables teachers, students, and their parents to better understand the foundations of these conflicts.