Periodicals (Print & Online) - Guided Research - Garden State Equality

Looking for Periodicals

Many disciplines include in depth LGBT scholarly research articles within the context of the subject area. Utilize the database keyword & subject searches on your right to find articles on LGBT themes.

Because there are many different keywords and search terms used to describe materials related to sexuality studies, it is difficult to create a search that will capture all journals related to LGBT issues. It is also difficult to narrow down just gay or lesbian materials.

Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to a journal or periodical. Try searching for "Gay," "Lesbian," or "LGBT."

Need help? Check out the Journal Locator Tutorial.

Interlibrary Loan.

Subscription databases are available to Monmouth University students, faculty and staff. For remote log in, use your university username and password.

General Databases

GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch News central to women's daily lives, including family, childbirth, childcare, sexual harassment, aging, body image, eating disorders and social roles.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in sociology and related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, social development, social psychology, social work, and socio-cultural anthropology. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Sociology Full Text (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Experience the past through thousands of private writings and personal narratives. The resource is a unique forum that brings together the voices of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures. In their own words, people from diverse ethnic and social groups bring vividly to life hundreds of years of history through their perspectives on life, love, faith, politics, business, and countless personal events.
Alt-HealthWatch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

Databases for Culural Studies

These databases access a variety of sources, including newspapers, scholarly and popular articles, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.

The New Jersey State Archives has over 8,000 master negative reels of nearly 600 New Jersey newspapers on microfilm. Duplicate copies are available for sale; some titles are also available for interlibrary loan.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular articles on various subjects. 1971+
NexisUni (LexisNexis)
Comprehensive source for current news (international, national and regional), legal research (cases and statutes, law reviews, news), business research (news, company information), medical information (news, journal articles, Medline abstracts) and basic reference tools.
IMPORTANT UPDATE
As of July 1, 2024 Nexis Uni will no longer be available.
- For company dossiers and company information, use Hoover's Company Profiles in Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest), Reference USA, or Westlaw's Company Investigator,
- For Business news use Wall Street Journal or ABI/INFORM Complete,
- For legislation information use CQ Congress Collection,
- For political news use New York Times, or US Newsstream (ProQuest),
- For US publications and government documents use HeinOnline or Westlaw,
- For legal research and court cases use Westlaw, GovInfo, HeinOnline or Google Scholar,
- For university news use The Chronicle of Higher Education,
- For law reviews and law journals use Westlaw, HeinOnline, or ProQuest Central.
Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
The largest historical newspaper database online, contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1759 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal literature. 1878 + Last several years not included.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General database recommended for finding scholarly articles in most disciplines. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

Gender, Media and Popular Culture

Communication Studies Full-Text Collection(Sage) This link opens in a new window
Communication journals published by SAGE and participating societies.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

Google Scholar

Do use Google Scholar to locate article titles.

Do not use Google Scholar to locate full-text scholalry articles.

Popular vs Scholarly Sources

Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals

Guided Research - Garden State Equality: Periodicals (Print & Online)