MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ED 201_2018: Educational Psychology: Home

Educational Psychology 201_Spring 2018

Educational Psychology 201_Spring 2018

Science Daily: Educational Psychology News

Loading ...

Access to Databases

All Monmouth University students, faculty and staff have access to subscription databases on campus.

Remote access to databases requires entry of username and password (same as email) for verification.

Many databases provide full text access to journals. However, you can use the GET ARTICLE icon to search for full text coverage of the title you need in one of the other databases.

Journal Locator

Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to a journal or periodical.

Need help? Check out the Journal Locator Tutorial.

Introduction

This research guide was created to assist students in ED201/PY201 to find five articles in one major theory of cognitive, moral, social-cultural or psychological development and applying the theory to the art and science of teaching, using resources available through the Monmouth University Library.

Best Bets for Articles

Start with the following Monmouth University subscription databases to find journal articles. 

  • Begin with one of the two Psychology databases to search for information on specific theories or theorists - search by theory or individual (egs. Piaget, cognitive theory)
  • Use one of the Education databases for articles on applying theories to learning and teaching - narrow search results by combining theory/theorist and learning (eg. Vygotsky and learning and child development)

Remote access to research databases is available using your student ID and password.

Searching Tips

Use the word "AND" to combine your keywords to make your search more specific. eg. cognitive theory AND learning

Use synonyms and alternative terms Related terms - broader or narrower - will also bring up relevant results. eg. teenagers | adolescents | youth

Use Truncation "*" to search for words with common roots without entering them individually. eg. searching for teen* retrieves teen, teens, teenaged, teenagers

Restrict searches to academic, peer-reviewed journals

Popular vs Trade vs Scholarly

 

                Popular

                Trade

                Scholarly

·  Colorful covers

·   Glossy paper

·  Ads

·  Articles on current

    events

·  General interest

·  Short articles

·  Written by general staff

·  Reviewed by general

    editor

·  No bibliographies

    or footnotes

·  Usually called magazine

·  Glossy

·  Ads

·  Articles on industry

trends

·  Short articles

·  Written for members

of specific industry

·  Written by staff or

    experts in the field

·  Short or no

    bibliographies

 

·  Plain cover, plain paper

·  No ads

·  Primary research, theories, methodologies

·  Lengthy, in-depth articles

·  Written for researchers &

    professionals

·  Written by experts in the

    field & researchers

·  Peer review by subject

    experts

·  Extensive bibliographies &

    references