LibGuides: HE 290: Health Research Methods: Home

HE 290: Health Research Methods

Welcome! Here are some library resources that will help you with your assignments in HE 290.

Please note that if you are off campus, you must be logged into myMU to access many of these resources.

If you need help, please contact your librarian, Christine Forbes, at chforbes@monomouth.edu.

Pew Research Center: Health Topics
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.
NIH Research Matters
NIH Research Matters is a weekly update of NIH research highlights reviewed by NIH’s experts.
Medscape
Medical news for healthcare professionals
Scientific American - Health
Health news blog from Scientific American magazine

AccessMedicine (McGraw Hill) This link opens in a new window
An "online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 65 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device."
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo contains full text encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of several evidenced-based health care databases. Note: Full text can only be accessed by one user at a time. If you have trouble accessing full text, please try again later.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions.

Trip: Turning Research Into Practice
Trip is a free clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Academic Writer (APA Style Central) This link opens in a new window
Academic Writer is a tool that provides the resources necessary to learn, research, write, and publish in APA Style, directly from the creators of and experts on APA Style, the American Psychological Association. Previously called APA Style Central