LibGuides: HO 494/HO 296: Honors Capstone Preparation Course: Business

General Business Databases

Use these databases to find journal articles on general business topics and related fields.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes MarketLine reports, industry and country profiles and business journals.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Canada's reference and current events - scholarly journal articles, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.

Business & Market Research

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry This link opens in a new window
Trade, Industry-focused information - journal articles, market reports, industry reports and news
Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots
DataBank | The World Bank This link opens in a new window
DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
iPoll (Roper) This link opens in a new window
The Roper databank is the most comprehensive up-to-date resource for US public opinion and includes more than 500,000 questions and answers dating back to 1935. It includes questionnaires, reports, and datasets from every major US polling firm and is updated daily. It allows searches by question, topic, date, or survey organization.
Reference USA This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed, current directory information on more than 12 million U.S. Businesses, 102 million U.S. residents, 683,000 U.S. healthcare providers, 1 million Canadian businesses and 11 million Canadian residents.
Value Line(*** LIMITED ACCESS-3 CONSECUTIVE USERS ONLY***) This link opens in a new window
Timely information on stocks, mutual funds, special situations, options and convertibles. Simultaneous access for 3 users. Please log off when session is completed.

HawkFind

Using HawkFind

Click below to download a PDF guide to advanced searching in HawkFind.

Searching HawkFInd

Search Tips

Use the word "AND" to combine your keywords to make your search more specific, e.g. "substance abuse" AND "domestic violence."
Use synonyms and alternative or related terms - broader or narrower - to expand your relevant results, e.g. "teenagers" | "adolescents" | "youth"
Use the truncation "*" (star) symbol to search for words with common roots without entering them individually, e.g. searching for teen* retrieves "teen," "teens", "teenaged", "teenagers." Use the "star" symbol (hit "shift" key + 8) to add truncation to your search term.
You can limit search results in many databases to academic/peer-reviewed journals, by publication date, or full-text only.

News Databases

NOTE: Monmouth University has access to the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal via their desktop platforms. You must have MU login credentials to set up your free account. Click "more info" to see details on how to get started with New York Times access.

New York Times Monmouth University has access to the New York Times via the Times desktop platform. You must have MU login credentials to set up and access your free account. Does not include premium features (The Athletic, Cooking, Games, or Wirecutter)
more...less...
New Monmouth University users go to http://accessnyt.com and choose Monmouth University from the menu. Use your MU email address as a username. After that, use nytimes.com to access the site.

Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window U.S. and international news sources including the New York Times and the Times of London along with hundreds of other news sources and newswires.
New York Times Historical: 1851-2019 This link opens in a new window This database offers full-page digital reproductions of every page (images and articles) from every issue, cover to cover, from the New York Times in downloadable PDF files.
US Newsstream (Proquest) This link opens in a new window Local and regional news coverage
Wall Street Journal (full interface) This link opens in a new window This is the desktop platform for the Wall Street Journal. Use your MU login credentials to create your free account. The Historical Wall Street Journal is also available via the Databases A-Z link.
Westlaw Campus Research Law, News and Business This link opens in a new window Legal, news, and business-related resources, including documents, press releases and reporting.

Humanities Databases

Use these databases to locate articles on business and economics.

JSTOR TIP: For best results, use the Journal Filter menu at lower left to filter by subject.

Duke University Press Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full text of 33 humanities and social science journals. Access goes back as far as 2000 in most cases; view the page for online availability for date ranges of specific journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal literature. 1878 + Last several years not included.

Communication

ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
The place to start searching for articles in scholarly communication journals. Scroll to bottom of abstract for a link to check for full text access or use the Journal Locator to find full text. 1970+
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Communication Studies Full-Text Collection(Sage) This link opens in a new window
Communication journals published by SAGE and participating societies.

Mass Communication & Society
Search within this peer reviewed journal for addition business communication resources.

Google Scholar Search - Details & VIdeo

Search Google Scholar for scholarly full-text materials available in addition to those you locate in HawkFind. If there is a link to the right of any of your search results, follow the link to view the full article (you may not have access to all the articles in your search results). Check out the Google Search tips video (created by Concordia University) for additional help, and be sure to access Google Scholar from the Monmouth University website in order to view accessible articles.

Video: Why Not Google?

Source: Yavapai College Library

Journal Locator

Journal Locator can help you determine whether the MU Library has access to a specific journal or magazine. The article you want may not be available in a database, but could be available in print. Print holdings of journals can be found on the Library's lower level. These are shelved alphabetically by title.
Use the Journal Locator to search for or within a journal or periodical. To search for journals by subject, scroll to Browse by Subject; click any subject to see sub-categories. For tips, please see the Journal Locator Tutorial.