LibGuides: AN 103: Cultural Anthropology: Find Articles

Search All Library Resources at Once: HawkFind

Advanced Searching in HawkFind

Journal Locator

Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to a journal or periodical.

Spotlighted Scholarly Journals

American Anthropologist American Anthropologist is the flagship journal of the American Anthropological Association, reaching well over 12,000 readers with each issue. The journal advances the Association's mission through publishing articles that add to, integrate, synthesize, and interpret anthropological knowledge; commentaries and essays on issues of importance to the discipline; and reviews of books, films, sound recordings and exhibits.
Current Anthropology Articles devoted to the human sciences, research reports, reviews of significant books, interviews with leading anthropologists and anthropological news items.
Anthropology of Food Anthropology of Food is a webjournal dedicated to the human and social sciences of food. Anthropology of Food is an open access multilingual academic journal (French, English, Spanish and Portuguese). Started in 1999, this journal is supported by the French National Institute for Human and Social Sciences (CNRS). All scientific articles in this journal are peer reviewed by at least two referees as well as the editorial committee.
Cultural Anthropology Cultural Anthropology publishes ethnographic writing informed by a wide array of theoretical perspectives, innovative in form and content, and focused on both traditional and emerging topics. It also welcomes essays concerned with ethnographic methods and research design in historical perspective, and with ways cultural analysis can address broader public audiences and interests.
Culture, Agriculture, Food and Environment Culture, Agriculture, Food and Environment publishes position papers, discussions of theoretical developments and methods of inquiry, results of empirical research, and book and film reviews from any tradition of scholarship. Central to the mission of CAFE is work that explores and demonstrates the connections between the full array of cultural dimensions and the environment, ecology, agriculture, aquaculture, fisheries, natural resources, energy, water, food, and nutrition.
Food, Culture & Society Explores the complex relationships among food, culture, and society from numerous disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as in the world of food beyond the academy.
Gastronomica Gastronomica represents the space where the breadth of academic scholarship on food cultures meets a public that is increasingly interested in questions of food, gastronomy, and the culinary arts. With a long history of accessible scholarship, exceptional production values, and varied, long-form writing, Gastronomica is uniquely positioned to enable food scholars to interact with our profession and the public.

Full-text Access

Many databases provide full-text access to journals. However, you can use the GET ARTICLE icon to search for full-text coverage of the title you need in one of the other databases. If no access is available, you can request and Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for the materials.

ILL Request Form

Multi-subject Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General database recommended for finding scholarly articles in most disciplines. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular articles on various subjects. 1971+

Subject Specific Databases

Due to the highly interdisciplinary nature of anthropology, a number of discipline-specific databases could be useful for your research. Hover over the information icon to obtain a description of the database.

Highly Recommended

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal literature. 1878 + Last several years not included.
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Social sciences - journal articles
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in sociology and related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, social development, social psychology, social work, and socio-cultural anthropology. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

Additional Subject Specific Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Duke University Press Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full text of 33 humanities and social science journals. Access goes back as far as 2000 in most cases; view the page for online availability for date ranges of specific journals.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF is an online cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
NexisUni (LexisNexis)
Comprehensive source for current news (international, national and regional), legal research (cases and statutes, law reviews, news), business research (news, company information), medical information (news, journal articles, Medline abstracts) and basic reference tools.
IMPORTANT UPDATE
As of July 1, 2024 Nexis Uni will no longer be available.
- For company dossiers and company information, use Hoover's Company Profiles in Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest), Reference USA, or Westlaw's Company Investigator,
- For Business news use Wall Street Journal or ABI/INFORM Complete,
- For legislation information use CQ Congress Collection,
- For political news use New York Times, or US Newsstream (ProQuest),
- For US publications and government documents use HeinOnline or Westlaw,
- For legal research and court cases use Westlaw, GovInfo, HeinOnline or Google Scholar,
- For university news use The Chronicle of Higher Education,
- For law reviews and law journals use Westlaw, HeinOnline, or ProQuest Central.
Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic and access information for over 240,000 serials. Entries provide pricing, subscription and distribution details as well as publisher, editor contacts. Direct links to URLs and e-mail addresses given when available, along with nearly 8,000 reviews excerpted from Magazines for Libraries and Library Journal.

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar does not allow you to filter your results to peer-reviewed journals. If you use Google Scholar, remember to check for peer-review by putting the journal title into Ulrichsweb.

Google Scholar-Find Additional Articles from a Known Source

Check for Peer-Review

Not sure if a particular journal is peer-reviewed? Check out Ulrichsweb. This database (also found in the A-Z database list from "Quick Links" on the library website) provides detailed information on publications. Look for the referee icon to indicate it is a peer-reviewed journal.

The black and white “ref jersey” icon below indicates that Higher Education is a peer-reviewed journal, but Education Week is not.