LibGuides: Government Information: Finding Maps

Best Bet Databases for Maps

DataBank | The World Bank

DataBank is accessible to the public on-site only and available both remotely and on-site for Monmouth University students and faculty.

DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

Historic Map Works

Historic Map Works is accessible to the public on-site only and available both remotely and on-site for Monmouth University students and faculty.

In the U.S. Collection, there are over 100,000 cadastral (those showing land and property owners) maps detailing the geographic and development history of the United States over several hundred years. In addition, there over 1,000 city directories related to the cadastral maps. The World Collection is a collection of maps covering the world through time. The Special Collection is an eclectic mix of maps, including decorative plates, portraits, and lithographs, as well as nautical and topographical maps.

United States Maps

Library of Congress Maps Collections
The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress provides cartographic and geographic information for all parts of the world to the Congress, Federal agencies, state and local governments, the scholarly community, and to the general public. It is the largest and most comprehensive cartographic collection in the world, though only a small fraction of the collection has been digitized. Collection includes the Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps.
General Land Office Records Map Search
From the U.S. Department of the Interior, search its Land Catalog application which allows the public to search for Patents, Surveys, Land Status Records, CDI Documents, and LR2000 Case Recordation & Land Status reports associated with a specific township. This application displays the PLSS data layer for and a drop-down search menu for easy navigation from a State, Meridian, and Township perspective.
The National Map - USGS
The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. It has many uses ranging from recreation to scientific analysis to emergency response. The National Map is a suite of products and services that provide access to base geospatial information to describe the landscape of the United States and its territories.
US Topo Map
Provides current U.S. topographical and historical maps.
Interactive Maps - Census Bureau
Use Census data to find interactive maps.
FCC National Broadband Map
This map displays where Internet services are available across the United States, as reported by Internet Service Providers (ISPs) to the FCC.
FEMA Flood Map Service Center
The FEMA Flood Map Service Center (MSC) is the official public source for flood hazard information produced in support of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

World Maps

CIA World Factbook
Your portal to a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps.
UN Maps & Geospatial Services
Maps have been produced under the auspices of the United Nations since the founding of the Organization in 1946. Maps can form the principal part of a United Nations document, be ancillary to other materials, or a part of proceedings of meetings in the Organization. Maps, whether traditional digital maps or web-maps, are the main medium to present and visualize geospatial information.