LibGuides: Government Information: Specialized Resources by Topic

Education

ERIC is accessible to the public on-site only and available both remotely and on-site for Monmouth University students and faculty.

ERIC is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information.

Compilation of Presidential Documents
The collection consists of official publication materials released by the White House Press Secretary, including Acts Approved by the President and nominations submitted to the Senate.
The American Presidency Project
Non-profit and non-partisan, the APP is the source of presidential documents on the internet. Hosted at the University of California, Santa Barbara, the collection contains over 151,000 records.

National Vital Statistics System (NVSS)
Find information on births, deaths and life expectancy on this site including drug overdose death counts.

Drug Information Portal is now PubChem This link opens in a new window
PubChem is a collection of freely accessible chemical information. It is managed by the U.S. National Institutes of Health. PubChem records are contributed by hundreds of data sources, including government agencies, chemical vendors, journal publishers, and more. PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but it also includes larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. It also includes drug information.
PubChem allows you to search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. You can use it to study chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.

National Centers for Environmental Information
The Nation’s leading authority for environmental data, and manage one of the largest archives of atmospheric, coastal, geophysical, and oceanic research in the world.
Climate Equity (EPA)
Explore information on marginalized and vulnerable populations, including resources on environmental justice.

STOPfakes.gov
STOPfakes.gov is a one-stop shop for U.S. government tools and resources on intellectual property rights (IPR). The federal agencies behind STOPfakes.gov have developed a number of resources to educate and assist businesses, particularly small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), as well as consumers, government officials, and the general public.
Budget of the United States Government
Contains the Budget Message of the President, information on the President's priorities, budget overviews organized by agency, and summary tables.
Consumer Price Index (CPI)
The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services. Indexes are available for the U.S. and various geographic areas. Average price data for select utility, automotive fuel, and food items are also available.
Economic Indicators
The Census Bureau produces monthly and quarterly snapshots of key sectors within the U.S. economy.

America's Historical Documents
Includes founding documents such as the Declaration of Independence and key documents such as Brown v. Board of Education and a Letter from Jackie Robinson, plus more.
Historical Documents by Presidential Administration
The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
Primary Documents in American History
The Library of Congress is home to many of the most important documents in American history. This Web site provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents. Documents are organized by eras.

National Security Archive
Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents.
Department of Energy OpenNet
The OpenNet database provides easy, timely access to approximately 512,000 bibliographic references and over 130,000 with attached full-text, including information declassified in response to Freedom of Information Act requests.
FBI Records: The Vault
The Vault is the FOIA Library, containing 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies.
Included here are many new FBI files that have been released to the public but never added to this website; dozens of records previously posted on our site but removed as requests diminished; files from our previous FOIA Library, and new, previously unreleased files.
CIA Historical Collection
Includes historic voluntary declassified CIA documents, and the FOIA Electronic Reading Room.