LibGuides: European History: Books and Databases for History Research

Introduction

Databases, listed on the right, will lead you to peer-reviewed journals, specific to the study of European History. Please note that articles published in peer-reviewed journals are reviewed by experts and rigorously vetted before publication. Non-peer reviewed journals, such as the ones found on magazine racks of large booksellers or published on Google, are not peer-reviewed.

Access to peer-review materials is possible only through academic affiliation; i.e.,undergraduates, graduates, and faculty.

Find Books at the MU Library

Library Catalog

Use the Catalog to locate books.

Use Keyword to search the entire record for the terms you enter. Use quotation marks when entering a phrase, e.g. "Iraq War."

For Title searches omit "The" at the beginning.

For Author searches use last name first.

Popular vs Scholarly Sources

Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals

Spotlighted Magazine

World War II
from 07/01/1996 to present in Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)

Spotlighted Scholarly Journal

German History
From 02/01/1998 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)

Databases for History Research

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window Primary Sources - includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 90,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years.
Early English Books Online: EEBO This link opens in a new window Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
New York Times Historical: 1851-2019 This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal literature. 1878 + Last several years not included.
Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window The largest historical newspaper database online, contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1759 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines.
Oral History Online This link opens in a new window This database provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. In some cases the full text is available.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full text database of many scholarly journals in history, political science and literature. 1993+
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window Experience the past through thousands of private writings and personal narratives. The resource is a unique forum that brings together the voices of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures. In their own words, people from diverse ethnic and social groups bring vividly to life hundreds of years of history through their perspectives on life, love, faith, politics, business, and countless personal events.
Wall Street Journal (Historical -- 1984-Present) This link opens in a new window

Multi-subject Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window General database recommended for finding scholarly articles in most disciplines. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Scholarly and popular articles on various subjects. 1971+

WorldCat

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find something you need? The interlibrary loan service can obtain the books or articles you are looking for.

Cross-Disciplinary Topics

History can be said to be the discipline that studies other disciplines. It is inherently interdisciplinary. One discipline with which history is closely allied is literature.

To search for information about the literature of an historical period, use the MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco)

You can also learn about the history of another discipline by utilizing the databases specific to that discipline. For example, you can learn about the history of Education by searching the permier database for that discipline--ERIC Database (Ebsco)

Anthropology is an allied discipline. AnthroSource is a standard databases for Anthropology.

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>