Start with the following Monmouth University subscription databases to find journal or newspaper articles. Remote access is available using your student ID and password.
Locate testing instruments. Note: Actual tests are not included, but information for obtaining them is. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
The following is a list of key counseling journals. Click on the title to find library and database coverage. Additional titles are cited in the PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO databases.
Journal of Counseling and Development
Counselor Education and Supervision
Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development
Journal of Mental Health Counseling
Use Journal Locator to see if the Library has full text access to a journal or magazine, or to browse for articles in the title.
Use the word "AND" to combine your keywords to make your search more specific. eg. substance abuse AND domestic violence
Use synonyms and alternative terms Related terms - broader or narrower - will also bring up relevant results. eg. teenagers | adolescents | youth
Use Truncation "*" to search for words with common roots without entering them individually. eg. searching for teen* retrieves teen, teens, teenaged, teenagers
Restrict searches to academic, peer-reviewed journals
Google Scholar searches articles, books, theses, and other content. Searching Google Scholar is easy, but it doesn't give you the ability to filter to peer-reviewed journal articles.
If you need to be sure the article you found is from a peer-reviewed journal, use Ulrichsweb as described in the box below.
Always access Google Scholar from the link above or the "Resources" list on the front page of the library website. When you use these links, your MU credentials will be authenticated, giving you access to library resources found in Google Scholar. Look for the "Full-Text @ MU Library" link in your results list. You can also click on the Google Scholar logo above to search using your MU credentials.
One useful feature of Google Scholar is the ability to find articles that have cited an article you already have. See the handout below for more information.
Not sure if a particular journal is peer-reviewed? Check out Ulrichsweb. This database (also found in the A-Z database list from "Quick Links" on the library website) provides detailed information on publications. Look for the referee icon to indicate it is a peer-reviewed journal.
The black and white “ref jersey” icon in the screenshot below indicates that Higher Education is a peer-reviewed journal, but Education Week is not.
