LibGuides: Anthropology: Find Articles

HawkFind

Advanced Searching in HawkFind

Popular vs Scholarly Sources

Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals

Spotlighted Scholarly Journals

American Anthropologist American Anthropologist is the flagship journal of the American Anthropological Association, reaching well over 12,000 readers with each issue. The journal advances the Association's mission through publishing articles that add to, integrate, synthesize, and interpret anthropological knowledge; commentaries and essays on issues of importance to the discipline; and reviews of books, films, sound recordings and exhibits.
Annual Review of Anthropology The Annual Review of Anthropology, in publication since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
Anthropological Quarterly Since 1921, Anthropological Quarterly has published scholarly articles, review articles, book reviews, and lists of recently published books in all areas of sociocultural anthropology. Its goal is the rapid dissemination of articles that blend precision with humanism, and scrupulous analysis with meticulous description.
Anthropology and Education Quarterly Anthropology & Education Quarterly is a peer-reviewed journal that draws on anthropological theories and methods to examine educational processes in and out of schools, in US and international contexts. Articles rely primarily on ethnographic research to address immediate problems of practice as well as broad theoretical questions.
Collaborative Anthropologies Collaborative Anthropologies is a forum for dialogue with a special focus on the complex collaborations between and among researchers and research participants/interlocutors. It features essays that are descriptive as well as analytical, from all subfields of anthropology and closely related disciplines, and that present a diversity of perspectives on collaborative research.
Current Anthropology Articles devoted to the human sciences, research reports, reviews of significant books, interviews with leading anthropologists and anthropological news items.

Spotlighted Popular Magazine

Archaeology
Also available in print for in-library use only

Environmental Anthropology/Sustainability: Recommended Journals

Multi-subject Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window General database recommended for finding scholarly articles in most disciplines. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal literature. 1878 + Last several years not included.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Scholarly and popular articles on various subjects. 1971+

Databases--Subject Specific

Due to the highly interdisciplinary nature of anthropology, a number of discipline-specific databases could be useful for your research. Hover over the information icon to obtain a description of the database.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window Access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge.
Beazley Archive This link opens in a new window The Beazley Archive is a research unit of the University of Oxford's Faculty of Literae Humaniores. This Web site provides access to photographs, notes, drawings and books relating to ancient Greek and Roman art.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Duke University Press Journals Online This link opens in a new window Provides online access to the full text of 33 humanities and social science journals. Access goes back as far as 2000 in most cases; view the page for online availability for date ranges of specific journals.
eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window eHRAF Archaeology focuses on in-depth descriptive documents (e.g., books, dissertations, monographs) of archaeological traditions from around the world. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window eHRAF is an online cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Abstracts from books, articles and documents from the Education Resources Information Center, funded by the U.S. Department of Education. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window A collection of film and video for the study of human culture and behavior.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window Provides researchers rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.
GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window GenderWatch News central to women's daily lives, including family, childbirth, childcare, sexual harassment, aging, body image, eating disorders and social roles.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window literature, modern languages, linguistics, drama, folklore, and humanities. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window International religion and spirituality - journal articles
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text scientific, technical and medical articles from Elsevier Publishing.
Science Online This link opens in a new window Database containing thousands of diagrams, definitions, biographies, essays, and experiments covering animal anatomy, anthropology and archaeology, astronomy and space technology, atomic physics, biochemistry, biology, botany, chemistry, computer science, earth science, environmental science, general science, genetics, health and medicine, human anatomy and physiology, marine science, physics, and weather and climate.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Full-text scholarly journals in sociology and related areas of study. These include criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, social development, social psychology, social work, and socio-cultural anthropology. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.

Environmental Anthropology/Sustainability: Recommended Databases

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window Database of articles and other materials on agriculture and allied disciplines produced by the National Agricultural Library.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Environment Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text scientific, technical and medical articles from Elsevier Publishing.

Sustainability Resources on JSTOR

Google Scholar

Google Scholar does not allow you to filter your results to peer-reviewed journals. If you use Google Scholar, remember to check for peer-review by putting the journal title into Ulrichsweb.

Google Scholar-Find Additional Articles from a Known Source

Journal Locator

Use the Journal Locator to see if the Library has access to a journal or periodical.

Full Text Access

Many databases provide full-text access to journals. However, you can use the GET ARTICLE icon to search for full-text coverage of the title you need in one of the other databases. If no access is available, you can request and Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for the materials.

ILL Request Form