LibGuides: AN 380: American Diversity : Find Articles (Print & Online)

Introduction

Databases, listed on the right, will lead you to peer-reviewed journals, specific to the study of Anthropology. Please note that articles published in peer-reviewed journals are reviewed by experts and rigorously vetted before publication. Popular magazines, such as the ones found on magazine racks of large booksellers or published on Google, are not peer-reviewed.

Access to peer-reviewed materials is possible only through academic affiliation; i.e.,undergraduates, graduates, and faculty.

Popular vs Scholarly Sources

Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals

Google Scholar Search

Trade Magazine

Learning Disability Today

Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A useful "starter resource" There is a "topic page" for LGBT issues
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Non-partisan, concise reports on 44 different topics of national interest. Because each report is updated annually, some will lack currency, yet each provides an excellent introduction to a vital issue. (1991-present) Another starter resource.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Access to American Anthropological Association (AAA) journals, newsletters, and bulletins. An electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003 and current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications.
Duke University Press Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full text of 33 humanities and social science journals.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
contains over 400,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
abstracts from books, articles and documents from the Educational Resources Information Center, funded by the U.S. Department of Education. EBSCO links this database automatically to E*Subscribe, ERIC Digests, ERIC/AE and Academic Search Premier for its full text. 1966 + Use the thesaurus for power-searching.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Family & Society Studies Worldwideprovides comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW is an anthology of 4 database files providing access to over 719,600 records. Coverage spans from 1970+
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
electronic archive of scholarly journal literature, including anthropology. 1878 + Last several years not included.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General database recommended for finding scholarly articles in most disciplines. 1975+
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General database. Scholarly and popular articles on various subjects. 1971+
Social Work Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts for articles on homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, and community organization.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
psychology and related fields. 1887 +. Use the thesaurus for power-searching.

Journal Locator

Use to check the Library's holdings for the journal you want. It is possible that the article you want is not available in a database, but is available in print. Print holdings of journals can be found on the Library's lower level. These are shelved alphabetically according to title.

Spotlighted Scholarly Journal

Journal of Black Studies
Journal of Black Studies (JBS), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, for the last third of a century has been the leading source for dynamic, innovative, and creative research on the Black experience. Poised to remain at the forefront of the recent explosive growth in quality scholarship in the field of Black studies, JBS offers important and intellectually provocative articles exploring key issues facing African Americans.

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find something you need? The interlibrary loan service can obtain the books or articles you are looking for.