LibGuides: Racial Healing: Home

This guide will provide information and resources on the topic of Racial Healing.

Monmouth University's Diversion & Inclusion Statement
Includes links to Monmouth University's Office of Equity & Diversity and Intercultural Center.

Additional Helpful Guides

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Belonging (DEIB)
by Laura Giacobbe Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 283 views this year
Structural Racism and Urban Planning
by Laura Giacobbe Last Updated Apr 17, 2024 22 views this year

What is Racial Healing?

Racial healing is at the heart of racial equity.

A core tenet of this work is racial healing. To heal means to restore to wholeness.

Racial healing is:

the people work that leads to the transformation of systems;
the telling of hard truths about past wrongs and present consequences;
repairing the harm of racism;
authentic relationship-building across real and perceived differences.

Racial healing is about building relationships, connecting people, and expanding the circles of engagement needed for overcoming racial hierarchy and building political will. It is a precursor to meaningful and sustainable policy change.

What is Antiracism?

Anti-Racism is the practice of actively identifying and opposing racism. The goal of anti-racism is to actively change policies, behaviors, and beliefs that perpetuate racist ideas and actions. (Boston University Community Center)

Resources on Race, Racism/Anti-Racism, Policing and Equality
by Kurt Wagner Last Updated Sep 29, 2023 42 views this year

Best Bet Databases

Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Non-fiction works by African-American leaders and others who have dealt substantially with issues of race in America. Includes books, essays, articles, speeches, letters, interviews, and other materials, some of which have not previously been published.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Essays, articles, reports and other reliable sources provide an in-depth look at the history of race and provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.
HistoryMakers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Thousands of African American interviews from a broad range of backgrounds and experiences. This resource provides high-quality video content, fully searchable transcripts, and unique content from individuals whose life stories would have been lost were it not for the HistoryMakers.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, full text collection of news articles from publications of the minority, ethnic, and native press. The database is searchable in both English and Spanish, covering 240 periodical titles in both languages.
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
An award-winning black studies portfolio that brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. The collection contains 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
More than 350 newspapers provide a one-of-a-kind record of African American history, culture and daily life. Covers life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment and more
African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles.
African American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Covering 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres. These diverse periodicals—which have shaped, and in turn been shaped by, African American culture—will enable new discoveries on lives of African Americans as individuals, as an ethnic group and as Americans.

Racial Healing

Specialist Librarian

Suggest a Book

Additional Helpful Guides

What is Racial Healing?

What is Antiracism?

Best Bet Databases