LibGuides: BM 510: Business Research, Analysis and Communication: Articles

Searching Databases -- Getting Started

Most research databases allow you to limit your searches to scholarly or peer reviewed articles. Many databases will return full text articles and abstracts (summaries) of the articles.

Click the article title to get started. If you cannot view the full text of the article in a particular database, click either the "Get Article" or "Link to Full Text" link to see whether it is available in another library database. If the article is unavailable through the Monmouth University Library, it may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Subscription databases are available to Monmouth University students, faculty and staff. For remote log in, use your university username and password.

View the entire list of MU databases in the A to Z List of Databases - or view Databases by Subject.

Ebsco databases look different in 2025 - see the box on this page for what's new!

Need an article in a popular magazine like The Atlantic or National Geographic? No problem! Flipster has current, full issues of popular magazines that you can virtually "flip" through!

Google Scholar Search - Details & VIdeo

Search Google Scholar for scholarly full-text materials available in addition to those you locate in HawkFind. If there is a link to the right of any of your search results, follow the link to view the full article (you may not have access to all the articles in your search results). Check out the Google Search tips video (created by Concordia University) for additional help, and be sure to access Google Scholar from the Monmouth University website in order to view accessible articles.

HawkFind

Using HawkFind

What is HawkFind?

HawkFind is a comprehensive search tool that searches across all of our databases, periodicals/journals, research guides and library catalog.

What is it good for?

HawkFind is great for searching across the widest possible range of materials if you are not sure where to begin or if your subject is interdisciplinary.

How do I use it?

Develop a search question and select keywords from that question to use for your search.
You can start a simple search from search bar or select "advanced search" for a more focused search. Use the filters to narrow your results,
When you have a list of results, the filters will appear on the left column of your screen.
Click the title of any article to view content.

Use this Step-by-Step guide to HawkFind for more detailed instructions..

Where Do I Find?

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window Scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news. From advanced search mode, use source and document type menus to narrow your results.
Wall Street Journal (full interface) This link opens in a new window Full consumer interface of the Wall Street Journal. Use https://wsj.com/activatemonmouth link to create your account, then login using your MU email and password thereafter.
Wall Street Journal (Historical -- 1984-Present) This link opens in a new window Full text database of the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present.
Westlaw Campus Research Law, News and Business This link opens in a new window Legal & industry news, and business-related information. Click News from homepage, use advanced search to find documents or use Smart Terms (bottom) to focus on an industry.

Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analytica, and Snapshots.
Reference USA This link opens in a new window Current directory information on more than 12 million U.S. Businesses, 102 million U.S. residents, 683,000 U.S. healthcare providers, 1 million Canadian businesses and 11 million Canadian residents.
Westlaw Campus Research Law, News and Business This link opens in a new window Legal & industry news, and business-related information. Click Company Investigator link from main menu to access corporate filings, negative news, adverse records and much more, Click News from homepage, use advanced search to find documents or use Smart Terms (bottom) to focus on an industry.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window View and search Court Cases or Scholarly Content. Click the three bars at upper left of screen to use Advanced Search.

GovInfo This site provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government and allows you to search, browse and download documents. Includes full-text Federal Register, Congressional Record, Hearing, Presidential Documents, Budget, and more.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,700 scholarly journals. Includes topic specific databases with all world constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law and more. Full text of state and federal case law.
Westlaw Campus Research Law, News and Business This link opens in a new window Premier research service for legal, news, and business-related information.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,700 scholarly journals. Includes topic specific databases with all world constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law and more. Full text of state and federal case law.

Law Research Centers Papers (SSRN) SSRN, formerly known as Social Science Research Network, is an open access research platform used to share early-stage research, evolve ideas, measure results, and connect scholars around the world. From submission to distribution, the potential is there for your research to reach millions of SSRN viewers and subscribers around the world.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Scholarly and popular articles on various subjects. Use advanced search and select document type "legal materials" to access. 1971+
Westlaw Campus Research Law, News and Business This link opens in a new window Premier research service for legal, news, and business-related information.

CQ Congress Collection This link opens in a new window Powerfull research and reference tool for analyzing the history and development, legislation, powers, and personalities of the U.S. Congress. Nonbiased commentary and vital biographical and voting data for members of Congress.
CQ Press This link opens in a new window Learn about major issues from current and historical perspectives and the inner workings of the U.S. government from authoritative, accessible, and unbiased sources
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Non-partisan, in-depth reports on topics of national interest including health, the environment, technology and the economy. Each article contains overview, chronology, pro/con, resources, and more. (1991-present)
CQ Weekly Report This link opens in a new window News and analysis covering people and events of the US Congress, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll call votes from 1983 forward
New York Times - full access This link opens in a new window Coverage from 1851 to present. New Monmouth University users go to http://accessnyt.com and choose Monmouth University from the menu. Use your MU email address as a username. After that, login and use nytimes.com to access the site. Does not include premium features (The Athletic, Cooking, Games, or Wirecutter)
New York Times Historical: 1851-2019 This link opens in a new window Full-page digital reproductions of every page (images and articles) from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files
US Newsstream (Proquest) This link opens in a new window Local and regional news coverage.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,700 scholarly journals. Includes topic specific databases with all world constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law and more. Full text of state and federal case law.
Westlaw Campus Research Law, News and Business This link opens in a new window Legal, news, and business-related information. . Click Company Investigator link from main menu to access corporate filings, negative news, adverse records and much more, Click News from homepage, use advanced search to find documents or use Smart Terms (bottom) to focus on an industry.

NJ Legislation Click the Bills tab to see detailed information and histories.

CQ Congress Collection This link opens in a new window Powerfull research and reference tool for analyzing the history and development, legislation, powers, and personalities of the U.S. Congress. Nonbiased commentary and vital biographical and voting data for members of Congress.

GovInfo This site provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government and allows you to search, browse and download documents. Includes full-text Federal Register, Congressional Record, Hearing, Presidential Documents, Budget, and more.

Video: Why Not Google?

Source: Yavapai College Library

Search Tips

Use the word "AND" to combine your keywords to make your search more specific, e.g. "substance abuse" AND "domestic violence."
Use synonyms and alternative or related terms - broader or narrower - to expand your relevant results, e.g. "teenagers" | "adolescents" | "youth"
Use the truncation "*" (star) symbol to search for words with common roots without entering them individually, e.g. searching for teen* retrieves "teen," "teens", "teenaged", "teenagers." Use the "star" symbol (hit "shift" key + 8) to add truncation to your search term.
You can limit search results in many databases to academic/peer-reviewed journals, by publication date, or full-text only.

General Business Databases

Use these databases to find journal articles on general business topics and related fields.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window Includes scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news.
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window Information on business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Includes MarketLine reports, industry and country profiles and business journals.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Scholarly journal articles, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal literature. 1878 + Last several years not included.

Business Research Databases

These databases will help you find data and background information as well as articles and reports from trade magazines.

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry This link opens in a new window Trade, Industry-focused information - journal articles, market reports, industry reports and news
Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from Hoover's Company Profiles, Oxford Analytica, and Snapshots.
DataBank | The World Bank This link opens in a new window Analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. Create queries; generate tables, charts, and maps.
Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window US public opinion resource that includes more than 500,000 questions and answers dating back to 1935, with questionnaires, reports, and datasets from every major US polling firm. Updated daily.
Reference USA This link opens in a new window Provides detailed, current directory information on more than 12 million U.S. Businesses, 102 million U.S. residents, 683,000 U.S. healthcare providers, 1 million Canadian businesses and 11 million Canadian residents.
Value Line This link opens in a new window Made possible with a generous contribution by the Leon Hess School of Business. Access limited to 6 simultaneous users. Timely information on stocks, mutual funds, special situations, options and convertibles. Simultaneous access for 6 users. Please log off when session is completed.

Business Communication Databases

ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window The place to start searching for articles in scholarly communication journals. Scroll to bottom of abstract for a link to check for full text access or use the Journal Locator to find full text. 1970+
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media. Hosted on the EBSCOhost platform.
Communication Studies Full-Text Collection(Sage) This link opens in a new window Communication journals published by SAGE and participating societies.

Mass Communication & Society Search within this peer reviewed journal for addition business communication resources.

Searching Magazine & Newspaper Websites

Finding what you need on comprehensive websites can be time-consuming. Look for sitemap to locate specific materials, or use this handy trick:

Open Google search bar
Type in search term(s)
Type in "site" + ":" [colon symbol] followed by the URL.

This technique will yield search results for your keyword(s) only within the website URL.

Narrowing your results:

You can search by specific domains. For example, if you only want government jobs sites, you can search "jobs" + "site:.gov" .

You can also also search for specific file types. For example, to search for a PDF document on jobs, search "jobs" + filetype:PDF.

BM 510: Business Research, Analysis and Communication

Journal Locator

News Databases

Changes to Ebsco Databases!