LibGuides: Business: Finance/Economics

Financial News/Charts

Tracking the Global Recession
Compares the current recession with past recessions for the United States and other countries - Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
Reforming the Nation's Financial System
Website designed to help the public keep track of major financial regulatory developments - Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
Wall Street Journal: Markets Data Center
Contains 30 of the most popular tables from the Wall Street Journal including:stocks, bonds, commodities & futures, and currencies For many of the tables there is an archive of past editions.
Bigcharts.com
Current and historical stock data.
Bloomberg
CEO Express
Yahoo!Finance
Company, financial and investment information
Reuters

Investing Education Sites

Investopedia
Learn the basics on investing - dictionary of terms, articles and tutorials.
Motley Fool
How-to advice on investing.

Financial Ratios

Reference books with financial ratio information in the MU Library include:

Almanac of Business & Financial Ratios REF HF5681.R25 T68

Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios REF HF5681.R25 I525

RMA Annual Statement Studies REF HF5681.B2 R6

SEC Filings

Public companies are required to file many different forms with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Click on the following link for a description of these SEC public forms as well as their rules, regulations, and schedules.

Edgar SEC Filings
Company filings.

MU Library Databases

Monmouth University's subscription databases providing financial market information:

Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(Ebsco, including MarketLine reports, industry & country profiles) Business journals.
NexisUni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Value Line(*** LIMITED ACCESS-3 CONSECUTIVE USERS ONLY***) This link opens in a new window
Timely information on stocks, mutual funds, special situations, options and convertibles. Simultaneous access for 3 users. Please log off when session is completed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal literature. 1878 + Last several years not included.

Business (9 ProQuest databases)
Searching with this link provides results from 9 business databases from ProQuest, including ABI/Inform, Hoovers, Asian & European sources, and Industry snapshots.

Websites

Check the company's website for information about corporate culture, products, and financials.

You can also check the following sites:

ThomasNet
Find manufacturers, distributors and service providers.
Guidestar
Source of information on US nonprofits. A searchable database of more than 1.8 million IRS-recognized nonprofit organizations, including Form 990.
Yahoo!Finance
Stock quotes, up to date news, portfolio management resources, international market data, and message boards.
Google Finance
Up-to-date stock and market data.
Reuters