Beginning your research with reference resources helps you discover background information like terminology, central figures and dates and an overview of existing literature on your topic. Look for:
General background information is helpful in the early stages of a research project. These databases are an excellent place to begin.
Use these specialized encyclopedias and reference texts to get an overview of the subject, or to familiarize yourself with terminology and key concepts.
Encyclopedia of Earth Science by
Encyclopedia of Earth Science provides a broad scope of important subjects in the field of Earth science - hydrology, structural geology, petrology, isotope geology, geochemistry, geomorphology, and oceanography. Containing approximately 700 entries, 19 prose essays, 110 line illustrations, and 100 black-and-white photographs, this comprehensive encyclopedia is perfect for high school and early college students. Hundreds of entries on concepts, theories and hypotheses, places and events, the major periods of geological time, people who have made significant contributions to the field, technology and instruments, occupations and careers, organizations, field locations, and other subjects round out this comprehensive volume. An ideal reference to the principal areas and issues related to this core area of science, Encyclopedia of Earth Science is extensively cross-referenced and indexed, bringing information quickly and easily to the fingertips of its readers. Entries include convection and the Earth's mantle; Charles Darwin; El Nino and the Southern Oscillation (ENSO); geochronology; Gondwana, Gondwanaland; Himalayan Mountains; jet streams; life's origins and early evolution; metamorphism; Pangea; uniformitarianism; and volcanic bomb.
Historical Dictionary of the Green Movement by
There are very serious environmental problems facing the planet. Biodiversity loss has reached unprecedented levels. Climate change is progressing so rapidly that within this century we are likely to see substantial sea level rise. There has been dramatic loss of tropical rainforests. Plastic pollution is killing wildlife and polluting our oceans. Various movements old and new are addressing these green issues. Civil society activism has taken on new strategies with the emergence of new technologies and global networks of green activists have formed. A new generation of green activists are emerging and boldly criticizing the status quo. At the same time, in some parts of the world, green movements that looked like they were beginning to gain a political foothold or were even doing quite well are in retreat. The reasons are complex. Some suffer from lack of funding and hostile political and legal environments. Others are being attacked by populist politicians who see green activism as a threat. The second edition of Historical Dictionary of the Green Movement contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 300 cross-referenced on green movements, green politics, green trends, and major environmental agreements and events. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the green movement.