MU LibraryFINDGET HELPSERVICESABOUT Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medieval Manuscript Research Guide (Advanced): Visiting Special Collections

Important Research Use Policies

Though you are free to use the collections, please do not bring food, chewing gum, beverages, and cellular phones into the Special Collections Reading Room. Please use only pencils, notebooks, and personal computers to record your notes. Cameras and other imaging equipment must be approved for use by the special collections librarian.

Use of all special collections, excepting the New Jersey Collection, is limited to the Special Collections Reading Room. No special collections materials, including the New Jersey Collection, circulate or lend through Interlibrary Loan.

Excepting class visits, users must sign a completed Researcher Registration Form and provide appropriate identification before they will be admitted to the Special Collections Reading Room. Copies of these documents will be retained at the Monmouth University Library.

 It is your responsibility to handle requested items with care and to refrain from altering, or rearranging, collection materials. All collection materials utilized by researchers should be left in the condition in which they were received.

Photocopying of materials is performed by the special collections staff once the researcher has submitted a completed
Application to Photocopy Form
. The Monmouth University Library reserves the right to limit or refuse photocopy requests subject to the condition of collection materials and/or restrictions imposed by the collection donor or by the US Copyright Act.

Permission to examine or photocopy materials does not imply permission to publish or quote. It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain such permission from both the copyright holder and Monmouth University.

The Monmouth University Library reserves the right to inspect all research material before patrons exit the Special Collections Reading Room. The Monmouth University Library also reserves the right to deny access to its special collections materials that are fragile or restricted by request of the collection donor.


Reader/Researcher Policies

You are welcome to visit the special collections reading room, as long as you:

  • do not bring with you food, chewing gum, beverages, or cellular phones (we can safely store your stuff while you're here)
  • use only pencils, notebooks, and personal computers to record your notes. Cameras and other imaging equipment must be approved before use
  • handle requested items with care and to refrain from altering, or rearranging, collection materials. All collection materials utilized by researchers should be left in the condition in which they were received

Please note that the photocopying of materials is performed by the special collections staff once the researcher has submitted a completed  Application to Photocopy Form. Monmouth University Library reserves the right to limit or refuse photocopy requests subject to the condition of collection materials and/or restrictions imposed by the collection donor or by the US Copyright Act.

Permission to examine or photocopy materials does not imply permission to publish or quote. It is the responsibility of the researcher to obtain such permission from both the copyright holder and Monmouth University. 

Monmouth University Library reserves the right to inspect all research material before patrons exit the Special Collections Reading Room.

Monmouth University Library also reserves the right to deny access to its special collections materials that are fragile or restricted by request of the collection donor.