LibGuides: Monmouth University Authors: 2015

2015 Books By Monmouth Authors

Julius O. Adekunle

Nigerian Political Leaders by Apollos Nwauwa (Editor); Adekunle (Editor)
ISBN: 9781938598135
Nigerian Political Leaders is a collection of comprehensive and well-researched essays on selected political leaders, both civilian and military written by notable scholars. While many leaders have ruled Nigeria since 1960, not all have made significant contributions to good governance and nation building. Because of leadership challenges, the search for sustainable democracy and political stability has been quite elusive. These problems have been compounded by the vastness of the country as well as its multi-ethnic com-position, religious divide, and the recurrent intervention of the military in politics. Thus, the result has been an unending difficulty in establishing a workable political schema for an enduring unity.

Nahid Aslanbeigui and Guy Oakes

Arthur Cecil Pigou by Nahid Aslanbeigui; Guy Oakes
ISBN: 9781137314505
The British economist Arthur Cecil Pigou (1877-59) reconceptualized economics as a theory of economic welfare and a logic of policy analysis. Misconceptions of his work abound. This book, an essay in demystification and the first reading of the entire Pigouvian oeuvre, stresses his pragmatic and historicist premises.

Kenneth L. Campbell

Western Civilization in a Global Context: Prehistory to the Enlightenment by Kenneth L. Campbell
ISBN: 9781472530332
Western Civilization in a Global Context is a source collection that introduces a comparative element to the study of Western civilization, offering students an opportunity to explore non-Western perspectives. An interesting and provocative set of readings are included, from a range of primary sources, including official documents, historical writings, literary sources, letters, speeches, interviews as well as visual sources. These different sources are carefully selected with a view to generating class discussion and providing students with a sense of the different approaches historians might take to understanding the past. Volume I covers prehistory to the Enlightenment, including sources that offer insight into the political, social, religious, cultural and intellectual history of this period. Topics covered include:- The Rise of Rome- Byzantine Civilization- The Renaissance in Europe and China- Religious Reformation- European Expansion- The Scientific Revolution.
Western Civilization in a Global Context: the Modern Age by Kenneth L. Campbell
ISBN: 9781472523419
Western Civilization in a Global Context is a source collection that introduces a comparative element to the study of Western civilization, offering students an opportunity to explore non-Western perspectives. An interesting and provocative set of readings are included, from a range of primary sources, including official documents, historical writings, literary sources, letters, speeches, interviews as well as visual sources. These different sources are carefully selected with a view to generating class discussion and to provide students with a sense of the different approaches historians might take to understanding the past.Volume II covers the modern period, from the Enlightenment to the 21st century, including sources that help gain insight into the political, social, religious, cultural and intellectual history of this period. Topics covered include:- The American and French Revolutions- The Age of Nationalism- The New Imperialism- Two World Wars and the Interwar Crisis- The Cold War- Decolonization.

Pedram Daneshgar

Mangroves As Fish Habitat by Karen J. Murchie; Pedram P. Daneshgar
ISBN: 9781934874424
Publication Date: 2015

Heide Estes

Old English Across the Curriculum: Contexts and Pedagogies. Special issue Studies in Medieval and Renaissance Teaching 22. by Haruko Momma and Heide Estes, Eds.
Momma, Haruko, and Heide Estes, eds. Fall 2015. Old English Across the Curriculum: Contexts and Pedagogies. Special issue Studies in Medieval and Renaissance Teaching 22.

George Gonzalez

Shape-Shifting Capital by George González
ISBN: 9780739180853
Publication Date: 2015-05-20
Shape-Shifting Capital: Spiritual Management, Critical Theory, and the Ethnographic Project is positioned at the intersection of anthropology, critical theory, and philosophy of religion. First, Gonzalez explores the phenomena of workplace spirituality in a language that is accessible to a general readership. Taking contemporary trends in organizational management as a case study, he argues, by way of a detailed ethnographic study of practitioners of workplace spirituality, that the conceptual and institutional boundaries between religion, science, and capitalism are being redrawn by theologized management appropriations of tropes borrowed from creativity theory and quantum mechanics. Second, Gonzalez makes a case for a critical anthropology of religion that combines existential concerns for biography and intentionality with poststructuralist concerns for power, arguing that the ways in which the personalization of metaphor bridges personal and social histories also helps bring about broader epistemic shifts in society. Finally, in a postsecular age in which capitalism itself is explicitly and confidently spiritual, Gonzalez suggests that it is imperative to reorient our critical energies towards a present day evaluation of postmodern capitalism s boundary-blurring. Gonzalez further argues that the kind of existential deconstruction performed by what he calls existential archeology can serve the needs of any social criticism of neoliberal religion and corporate spirituality."

Walter Greason, William Gorman, Melissa Ziobro

The American Economy by Walter Greason; William Gorman; Melissa Ziobro
ISBN: 9781465288578
Publication Date: 2015
“In this creative, insightful collection of resources, Walter Greason, William Gorman, and Melissa Ziobro have presented a powerful, new vision of the economic history of the United States. Combining many of the most important analyses of business, social, economic, and labor history from the last fifty years, THE AMERICAN ECONOMY makes some of the most salient debates about public policy accessible to a wide audience. The resulting synthesis offers one of the most original (and complete) assessments of economic development in North America from 1748 to 2012. One of the most impactful fruits of this project is the presentation of “Asset Value Analysis” as a methodology of economic history that allows every reader to understand their specific position within global capitalism at multiple, simultaneous geographic scales. This trio of educators have crafted a text that fits well into a variety of survey courses, ranging from marketing and management to American history and sociology.

THE AMERICAN ECONOMY offers a range of data, analysis, and methodologies that inspires beginners to understand the connections among modern agriculture, racial slavery, textile manufacturing, national industrialization, consumerism, and globalization.”

George Kapalka

Treating Disruptive Disorders by George M. Kapalka (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415719605
Treating Disruptive Disorders is a practical book for busy clinicians--psychiatrists, psychologists, mental health counselors, clinical social workers, and more--as well as students, interns, or residents in the mental health professions. It distills the most important information about combined as well as solitary treatments of a variety of psychological disorders characterized by disruptive behaviors, including those where disruptive aspects are part of core symptoms (like ADHD, ODD, or conduct disorder), and those where disruptive features are commonly associated with core symptoms (like mood, personality, and cognitive/developmental disorders). In addition to an analysis of the best in evidence-based practice and research, the volume also includes brief clinical vignettes to help present the material in an easily accessible, understandable, readable, and relevant format. The chapter authors are experts in the treatment of these disorders and review a wide variety of empirically supported treatments for children, adolescents, and adults.

Rose Knapp

Hemodynamic Monitoring by Rose Knapp
ISBN: 9781496306999
Perform pressure monitoring safely, accurately, and confidently with the freshly updated Hemodynamic Monitoring Made Incredibly Visual! Hundreds of drawings, flow charts, photos, and diagrams offer essential background on cardiopulmonary anatomy and physiology, nursing principles, and current hemodynamic monitoring technology, in the popular and colorful Made Incredibly Visual style. This easy-to-follow, easy-to-remember content will help you prepare for the NCLEX or certification exam, get clear on concepts discussed in class, and simply upgrade your pressure monitoring skills. The updated 3rd edition of Hemodynamic Monitoring Made Incredibly Visual! includes brand new and updated content covering, current nursing practice guidelines for hemodynamic monitoring; complete and current directions for procedures such as: changing a CV dressing; CV and PA catheter insertion; arterial line insertion; handling a displaced arterial line; and troubleshooting pressure monitoring systems; directions and images that explain the latest pressure monitoring technology, and current circulatory and ventricular assist devices.

Gary Lewandowski, David Strohmetz, and Natalie Ciarocco

Discovering the Scientist Within by Gary W. Lewandowski; Natalie J. Ciarocco; David B. Strohmetz
ISBN: 9781464120442
In this breakthrough first edition, authors Gary Lewandowski, Natalie Ciarocco, and David Strohmetz draw on their extensive classroom experiences to introduce research methodology in a highly effective, thoroughly engaging new way, maximizing students’ familiarity with every step of the process. For the first time in a methods text, each design chapter follows a single study from ideation to writing for publication, with students researching an intriguing question emerging from a chapter-long case study. Also for the first time in a methods text, each design chapter models the entire research process, so students get multiple opportunities to experience that process start to finish.

Allen E. Milewski, Barbara T. Reagor, Robert S. Bekefi, William F. Tepfenhart, and Lauren C. Landrigan

Milewski, Allen E., Barbara T. Reagor, Robert S. Bekefi, William F. Tepfenhart, and Lauren C. Landrigan. "System and Method for Viewing and Marking Maps." US Patent 9,164,975, issued on October 20, 2015.

The present invention is directed to a method and device for obtaining, viewing and marking maps in real time. Maps are obtained from a list of maps, the maps are then viewed on interactive tabletop displays allowing a user to visualize a mapped location and "markup" points on the map. The markup data is captured as a small file and sent out to responders via rapid transmission in both real time as it is developed or as final actionable information. The maps employed in the present invention include land maps or building floor plans that are either in paper or digital formats.

Mihaela Moscaliuc

Immigrant Model by Mihaela Moscaliuc
ISBN: 9780822963349
Publication Date: 2015-01-07
The poems in Immigrant Model explore issues of individual and communal identity in the face of conflict, conflicting "truths" or histories, and uprootedness. They explore the notion of homeland as it relates to one's roots, adopted space, psychological terrain, gendered body. If the book reads as a collage of voices or shards rather than as a book with an identifiable arc, it's because that's the only way the poet has managed to answer, so far, the question, "What is it like to be of this world and this world and this world, while also of the elsewhere skirting these worlds?"

Michael A. Palladino

Essentials of Genetics by William S. Klug; Michael R. Cummings; Charlotte A. Spencer; Michael A. Palladino
ISBN: 9780134047799
Publication Date: 2015-10-07
Essentials of Genetics is a forward-looking exploration of essential genetics topics. Known for its focus on conceptual understanding, problem solving, and practical applications, this bestseller strengthens problem-solving skills and explores the essential genetics topics that today's students need to understand. The Ninth Edition maintains the text's brief, less-detailed coverage of core concepts and has been extensively updated with relevant, cutting-edge coverage of emerging topics in genetics.

Maryanne A. Rhett

The Global History of the Balfour Declaration by Maryanne A. Rhett
ISBN: 9781138119413
This book examines the development and issuance of the Balfour Declaration, the document that set the stage for the creation of the state of Israel, within its global setting. The heart of the book demonstrates that the Declaration developed and contributed to a juncture in a global dialogue about the nature and definition of nation at the outset of the twentieth century. Embedded in this examination are gendered, racial, nationalistic, and imperial considerations. The work posits that the Balfour Declaration was a specific tool designed by the manipulation of these ideas. Once established, the Declaration helped, and hindered, established imperial powers like the British, nascent imperial powers like the Japanese and Indians, and emerging nationalist movements like the Zionists, Irish, Palestinians, and East Africans, to advocate for their own vision of national definition.

Saliba Sarsar

Portraits: Poems of the Holy Land by Saliba Sarsar
ISBN: 9780996206310
Publication Date: 2015
"Like the poet, many of us alive today shoulder multiple identities. There is Saliba Sarsar the poet, and Saliba Sarsar the professor of political science. Add this to his Palestinian roots, his Christian background, and his active life as a world citizen, and one begins to understand why he encourages us to bid our sad divisions cease; or,if they do not cease, that we at least keep them under a manageable wrap until a more hopeful day arrives when the world's people see more clearly."
- Ifeanyi Menkiti from the forward.

Pietro Sasso

Higher Education and Society by Joseph L. DeVitis; Pietro A. Sasso
ISBN: 9781433128714
Publication Date: 2015-11-01
Higher education and society are becoming increasingly intertwined. Both act as a transmitter of culture, yet many colleges and universities also ideally seek to create a more perfectible society and more enlightened, engaged citizens. When the connections between social structures and post-secondary education are closely entangled, the university's aims can take on a contentious struggle for identity in a vexing web of competing external interests - especially in light of scarce economic resources, corporate pressures, technological questions, and globalizing trends. Higher Education and Society weighs the urgent question of how society and higher education influence each other. How the latter responds to that unsettled issue may well determine whether colleges and universities chart a more self-reflective path or one of rising deference to societal contingencies.

Richard A. Stein

Super-Spreading in Infectious Diseases by Richard A. Stein
ISBN: 9781631172953
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
As one of the biological factors that most powerfully impacted history, infectious diseases continue to be a leading cause of global morbidity and mortality. At least two major factors are making infectious diseases assume more important roles than ever before. One of these is the increasing ability of certain microorganisms, normally limited to other species, to cross or jump across the species barrier and become human pathogens. The second factor -- our increasing and unprecedented global mobility which has made traveling between any two remote locations on the planet possible in less than 24 hours. As a result, a local outbreak anywhere in the world becomes a global concern. A significant challenge that is shared by most (if not all) infectious diseases is our insufficient understanding of the dynamic host-pathogen interaction. In particular, one of the gaps in visualizing our interaction with microorganisms stems from the fact that historically, pathogen transmission in populations was assumed to be homogeneous, with infected individuals having approximately equal opportunities to infect secondary contacts. However, in what became known as "the 20/80 rule", an increasing number of studies and observations point towards a small number of individuals (20%) that are responsible for most (80%) transmission events in a population. This minority of individuals who infect a disproportionately large number of secondary contacts has become known as "super-spreaders". The phenomenon of super-spreading lies at the core of understanding the biology of microorganisms and their ability to cause outbreaks, and is instrumental for developing and implementing preventive and therapeutic strategies. This book proposes to examine super-spreading in infectious diseases. Super-spreading dates back as far as Typhoid Mary, the first documented example, and it was documented for most microorganisms, including Mycobacterium tuberculosis, Plasmodium and Schistosoma species, HIV, hepatitis C, influenza virus, Ebola virus, rhinoviruses, Escherichia coli, West Nile virus, and the SARS coronavirus. A thought-provoking find from the SARS pandemic was that in the absence of super-spreading events, most infected individuals caused very few (if any) secondary contacts, but a low number of super-spreaders fueled the global outbreak. Super-spreading was described in human, animal, and plant hosts, and it exists at the level of the individual as well as at that of the species. One of the common denominators of super-spreading events is that they are virtually always identified only retroactively, as part of epidemiologic investigations.

Marina Vujnovic

Globalizing Cultures: Theories, Paradigms, Actions by Vincenzo Mele and Marina Vujnovic
ISBN: 9789004272835
Through a comparative analysis of representations of globalization the book Globalizing Cultures: Theories, Paradigms, Actions examines the way cultures and individuals oppose, resist and re-center globalization and how people negotiate a sense of identity and belonging in a global context.

Linda Whitfield-Spinner

Our Roots Run Deep by Linda Whitfield-Spinner
ISBN: 9781503585270
As the old cliché goes, you can't know where you are going until you know where you have been; knowing ones roots helps you to realize where you fit in life. The retelling of family stories from one person to the next is as old as time. Young and old alike find that discovering one's roots is exciting and personally rewarding. As a family, we share a common bond and kinship. The information shared in this booklet was gathered through oral histories, written records, family Bibles, ancestry.com, state health records, family reunion booklets, and national census data. Sources through interviews with family members tell us that Warren Moore (1841) and his parents Dock Moore and Edy Moore, arrived in the United States as slaves sometime around the midnineteenth century. The family initially lived and worked on the Albritton plantation in Pitt County, North Carolina. Warren Moore married Harriet Langley (1844). Cobby Moore (1878), the main patriarchal focus for this project, was one of Warren and Harriet's eighteen children. The following pages contain “sketches” of the lives of Cobby Moore, his three wives, and each one of Cobby's eighteen children. These short vignettes describe the general characteristics of each family member and tell the story of a family's place in American society.

Kenneth Womack

The Mammoth Book of Movies by Kenneth Womack
Publication Date: 2015

The world of film exerts a powerful influence over the many ways in which our culture thinks and feels about itself. In The Mammoth Book of Movies, Kenneth Womack provides readers with an illuminating window into this world through a series of film reviews that speak to the manner in which contemporary cinema impacts our lives. Featuring hundreds of movie reviews, The Mammoth Book of Movies critiques a wide array of contemporary films. A concluding essay—“So You Want to Be a Film Critic?”—affords students and teachers alike with an informative guide to the art of movie reviewing. The Mammoth Book of Movies is the kind of book that readers will enjoy coming back to—time and time again—in order to consume yet another rich and varied review about the films that touch our lives.

Corey Lee Wrenn

A Rational Approach to Animal Rights by Corey Wrenn
ISBN: 9781137434647
Publication Date: 2015-10-28
Despite considerable growth in the animal rights movement and the rise of large, professionalized non-profits, liberation remains slow-going and vegan numbers remain marginal. Given the considerable wealth enjoyed by many large groups and the widespread public support for animal welfare, this stagnation is troubling. Current movement repertoires attempt to manipulate, rather than eliminate, institutions of oppression, often resulting in highly problematic compromises. This book champions thepromise of a feminist scientific method, building a case for a rational, evidence-based approach to animal liberation efforts that is mindful of intersectionality politics. The author explores theories of social change presented by critical sociology, social psychology, and feminist thought. A rational approach to animal rights will entail a radical transcendence above popular but ineffectual tactics and theory. This approach rejects theistic, capitalist, patriarchal, and white supremacist tendencies in favour of grassroots vegan abolitionism embedded within an intersectional anti-oppression framework.

Accounting

Minna Yu

Yu, M., & Zhao, R. 2015. "Sustainability and Firm Valuation: An International Investigation." International Journal of Accounting and Information Management,23(3), 289-307.

Ronald Zhao

Yu, M., & Zhao, R. (2015). "Sustainability and Firm Valuation: An International Investigation." International Journal of Accounting and Information Management,23(3), 289-307.

Art and Design

Jing Zhou

Zhou, Jing. 2015. "Connecting the Dots: Art, Culture, Science, and Technology." In Handbook of Research on Maximizing Cognitive Learning through Knowledge Visualization, by Anna Ursyn. Hershey, PA: IGI Global.

Zhou, JIng. 2015. Living Mandala: The Cosmic of Being. Proceedings of the 21st International Symposium on Electronic Art (ISEA)

Biology

Pedram P. Daneshgar

Murchie, Karen J. and Pedram P. Daneshgar. 2015. Mangroves As Fish Habitat. American Fisheries Society.

Richard A. Stein

Stein, Richard A. 2015. Super-spreading in Infectious Diseases. New York: Nova Science.

John Tiedemann

Tiedemann, John. 2015, October. Ensuring Stripers for the Future. The Fisherman: 29-31.

Chemistry and Physics

Dmytro Kosenkov

Prato, Gary, Samantha Silvent, Sammy Saka, Massimiliano Lamberto, and Dmytro Kosenkov. 2015. "Thermodynamics of Binding of Di- and Tetrasubstituted Naphthalene Diimide Ligands to DNA G-Quadruplex." Journal of Physical Chemistry B 119(8):3335-3347.

Massimiliano Lamberto

Lamberto, Massimiliano. 2015. "Synthesis of tricyclic indolizidines from ethyl isocyanoacetate. Heterocyclic Communications." 21(3):153-157.

Communication

Marina Vunjovic

Mele, Vincenzo, and Marina Vujnovic. 2015. Globalizing Cultures: Theories, Paradigms, Actions. Netherlands: Brill.

Vujnovic, Marina. 2015. "Transnational Feminist Media Practices: Seeking Alliance against Global Capitalism." In Globalizing Cultures: Theories, Paradigms, Actions, edited by Vincenzo Mele and Marina Vujnovic, 196-210. Netherlands: Brill.

Computer Science and Software Engineering

Allen Milewski

Barbara Reagor

William Tepfenhart

Criminal Justice

John Comiskey

Comiskey, John. 2015. How Do College Homeland Security Curricula Prepare Students for the Field? Journal of Homeland Security Education 4(20): 1-40.

Peter Liu

Liu, Peter. 2015. Conducting a Survey Research Project Using SPSS. Reading, CA: BVT Publishing.

Liu, Peter and Amy Situ-liu. 2015. "Control Theory Variables: How Are They Related to Juvenile Delinquency?" Pearl River Forum by Social Sciences Academic Press (China) 8(2): 87-99, edited by Jingchuan Fu.

Brian Lockwood

Lockwood, Brian, and Philip W. Harris. (2015). Kicked out or dropped out?: Disaggregating the effects of community-based treatment attrition on juvenile recidivism. Justice Quarterly, 32(4): 705-728.

Fader, Jamie J., Brian Lockwood, Victoria L. Schall, and Benjamin Stokes. (2015). A promising approach to narrowing the school-to-prison pipeline: The WISE Arrest Diversion Program. Youth Violence and Juvenile Justice, 13(2): 123-142.

Taylor, Ralph B., Brian R. Wyant, and Brian Lockwood (2015). Variable links within perceived police legitimacy?: Fairness and effectiveness across races and places. Social Science Research, 49: 234-248.

Curriculum and Instruction

Linda Arnold

Arnold, Linda. 2015. Hands-on Learning in the Virtual Classroom: A Dilemma for Mathematics Teacher Educators. Proceedings of EdMedia: World Conference on Educational Media and Technology 2015, edited by Saul Carliner, Catherine Fulford, and Nathaniel Ostashewski, 1221–1226.

Arnold, Linda and Patricia Davis-Wiley. 2015. Preparing Teacher Candidates to Work With English Language Learners in Mathematics. Teaching for Excellence and Equity in Mathematics 6, no. 1:17-25.

John E. Henning

Gut, Dianne, Pam Beam, and John E. Henning. 2015. "Partnering with P-12 Teachers in the Collaborative Mentoring of Teacher Candidates." In Mentoring: Perspectives, Strategies and Impacts on School Performance, edited by Wanda Slater, 99-108. Hauppauge, NY: Nova.

Henning, J. E., Gut, D., & Beam, P. (2015). "Designing and Implementing a Mentoring Program to Support Clinically-based Teacher Education." The Teacher Educator,50(2), 145.

Alex Romagnoli

Romagnoli, Alex. "Up, Up, and Away: Superman in the Compostition Classroom." In Yin and Yang in the English Classroom: Teaching with Popular Culture Texts, edited by Sandra Eckard, 123-136. Latham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2015.

Courtney L. Werner

Werner, Courtney L. 2015. "Speaking of Composing (Frameworks): New Media Discussions, 2000-2010. Computers and Composition: An International Journal for Teachers of Writing 37: 55-72. doi:10.1016/j.compcom.2015.06.005.

Economics, Finance and Real Estate

Nahid Aslanbeigui

Aslanbeigui, Nahid and Guy Oakes. 2015. Arthur Cecil Pigou. New York: Palgrave MacMillan.

English

Heide Estes

Momma, Haruko, and Heide Estes, eds. Fall 2015. Old English Across the Curriculum: Contexts and Pedagogies. Special issue Studies in Medieval and Renaissance Teaching 22.

Estes, Heide. 2015. “Beowulf and the Sea: An Ecofeminist Reading." The Maritime World of the Anglo-Saxons: Essays in Anglo-Saxon Studies 5:209-216.

Estes, Heide. Fall 2015. “Teaching Old English in History of the English Language.” Old English Across the Curriculum: Contexts and Pedagogies. Special issue Studies in Medieval and Renaissance Teaching 22(2):25-29.

Mihaela Moscaliuc

Moscaliuc, Mihaela. 2015. Immigrant Model. Pittsburgh: University of Pittsburgh Press.

Moscaliuc, Mihaela. 2015. "Trafficking Gypsiness in the 21st Century." In Globalizing Cultures: Theories, Paradigms, Actions, edited by Vincenzo Mele and Marina Vujnovic, 288-310. Netherlands: Brill.

Courtney L. Werner
Werner, Courtney L. 2015. Speaking of composing (frameworks): New media discussions, 2000-2010. Computers and Composition: An International Journal for Teachers of Writing 37 : 55-72.

Kenneth Womack

Womack, Kenneth. 2015. The Mammoth Book of Movies. DuBois, PA: Mammoth Books.

Health and Physical Education

Jaime L. Myers

Hirschler, C., Hope, A., and Myers, J. L. 2015. College students’ perceptions of and experiences with human papillomavirus and herpes: Implications for college sexual health education. American Journal of Sexuality Education [Accepted for publication].

Myers, J., Buhi, E., Marhefka, S., Daley, E., and Dedrick, R. (2015). Associations between individual and relationship characteristics and genital herpes disclosure. Journal of Health Psychology. Advanced online publication. doi: 10.1177/1359105315575039

Christopher Hirschler

Hirschler, Christopher, Andrea Hope, and Jaime L. Myers. 2015. College Students’ Perceptions of and Experiences with Human Papillomavirus and Herpes: Implications for College Sexual Health Education. American Journal of Sexuality Education 10 (4): 298-315.

History and Anthropology

Julius O. Adekunle

Nwauwa, Apollos O., and Julius O. Adekunle. 2015. Nigerian Political Leaders: Visions, Actions, and Legacies. Glassboro, NJ: Goldline and Jacobs.

Nwauwa, Apollos O., and Julius O. Adekunle. 2015. "Obafemi Awolowo: A Transformational and Visionary Leader." In Nigerian Political Leaders: Visions, Actions, and Legacies, eds. Apollos O. Nwauwa and Julius O. Adekunle, 49-65. Glassboro, NJ: Goldline and Jacobs.

Heidi Bludau

Bludau, Heidi. 2015. "Creating a Transnational Labor Chain between Eastern Europe and the Middle East: A Case Study in Healthcare." InterDisciplines 6(1):95-120.

William Gorman

Greason, Walter, William Gorman, Melissa Ziobro, Eds. 2015. The American Economy. Des Moines, IA: Kendall Hunt.

Walter Greason

Greason, Walter, William Gorman, Melissa Ziobro, Eds. 2015. The American Economy. Des Moines, IA: Kendall Hunt.

Brian Greenberg

Greenberg, Brian. "Leon Davis," in American National Biography. New York: Oxford University Press. 2015

Kenneth L. Campbell

Campbell, Kenneth L. 2015. Western Civilization in a Global Context: Prehistory to the Enlightenment: Sources and Documents. London: Bloomsbury.

Campbell, Kenneth L. 2015. Western Civilization in a Global Context: The Modern Age: Sources and Documents. London: Bloomsbury.

Karen Schmelzkopf

Schmelzkopf, Karen. 2015. "Tourism, Expatriates, and Power Relations in Vieques, Puerto Rico." In Globalizing Cultures: Theories, Paradigms, Actions, edited by Vincenzo Mele and Marina Vujnovic, 311-327. Netherlands: Brill.

Maryanne A. Rhett

Rhett, Maryanne A. 2015. The Global History of the Balfour Declaration: Declared Nation. New York: Routledge.

Melissa Ziobro

Greason, Walter, William Gorman, Melissa Ziobro, Eds. 2015. The American Economy. Des Moines, IA: Kendall Hunt.

Ziobro, Melissa. 2015. "Adolphus W. Greely." On Point: The Journal of Army History 21(2).

Ziobro, Melissa. 2015. "The Military and Sweets." In The Oxford Companion to Sugar and Sweets, Darra Goldstein, ed. New York: Oxford University Press.

Ziobro, Melissa. April 3, 2015. "Oral Histories of Student Veterans at Monmouth University." Oxford University Press Blog. http://blog.oup.com/.

Library

Eleonora Dubicki

Dubicki, Eleonora. 2015. Title IX in Action (sidebar). Rutgers: A 250th Anniversary Portrait. London: Millennium Publishing.

Dubicki, Eleonora. November, 2015. "Writing a Research Paper: Students Explain their Process." Reference Services Review 43 (4): 673-88.

MaryBeth Meszaros

Meszaros, MaryBeth, and Alison M. Lewis. 2015. "Librarianspeak: Metaphors That Reflect (and Shape) the Ethos and Practice of Academic Librarianship," 53-85 in Not Just Where to Click: Teaching Students How to Think about Information. Chicago: ACRL.

Management and Decision Sciences

Gwendolyn Yvonne Alexis

Alexis, Gwendolyn Yvonne. 2015. "Deification of Market: Homogenization of Cultures: 'Free Trade' and other Euphemisms for Global Capitalism." In Globalizing Cultures: Theories, Paradigms, Actions, edited by Vincenzo Mele and Marina Vujnovic, 124-140. Netherlands: Brill.

Guy Oakes

Aslanbeigui, Nahid and Guy Oakes. 2015. Arthur Cecil Pigou. New York: Palgrave MacMillan.

Stuart Rosenberg

Rosenberg, Stuart. 2015. "Malkinson Printing Company: The Evolution of a Family Business." Case Research Journal 35(1):99-112.

Rosenberg, Stuart and Patrick O'Halloran. 2015. "Firm Behavior in Oligopolistic Markets: Evidence from a Business Simulation Game." Journal of Business Case Studies 10(3):239-254.

Charles Willow

Willow, Charles. 2015. "An Object Oriented Database for Information Management in Computer Integrated Manufacturing." Advances In Management 8, no. 6:1-6.

Marketing and International Business

Jack Corley

Corley, Jack. 2015. "Innovations in Natural Fragrance and Personal Care." Global Cosmetic Industry Magazine, 183(9):20-23.

David P. Paul, III

Paul, David P., III, Diego Arroyo, Bethany Daniel, Heather Graves, Kristin Neal, and Alberto Coustasse. 2015. "Managed Care and Accountable Care Organizations." Northeast Business and Economics Association Proceedings, edited by Della Lee Sue, 316-319.

Paul, David P., III, Diego Arroyo, Bethany Daniel, Heather Graves, Kristin Neal, and Alberto Coustasse. 2015. "How Effective Is Capitation at Reducing Health Care Costs." Northeast Business and Economics Association Proceedings, edited by Della Lee Sue, 320-323.

Paul, David P., III and Ashish Chandra. 2015. "Functional Foods: From a Tiny Niche to a Significant Segment." Proceedings of the Annual Meeting of the Association of Collegiate Marketing Educators, edited by Qiang Fei, 111-113.

Paul, David P., III. 2015. "Sleepless(ness) in Seattle (and Key West, and All Points In-Between): Why America Has Trouble Sleeping and What Can Be Done About It." In Proceedings of the 2015 Business and Healthcare Administration Association, edited by Deborah Gritzmacher, 239-245.

Paul, David P., III. 2015. "A Call for More Meaningful Comparisons of Countries’ Health Outcomes: Potential Impact of Diet and Physical Inactivity." In Proceedings of the 2015 Business and Healthcare Administration Association, edited by Deborah Gritzmacher, 232-238.

Holdren, Priscilla, David P. Paul, III, and Alberto Coustasse. 2015. "Burnout Syndrome in Hospital Nurses." In Proceedings of the 2015 Business and Healthcare Administration Association, edited by Deborah Gritzmacher, 147-156.

Paul, David P., III and Michaeline Skiba. 2015. "Concierge Medicine: Physicians as Entrepreneurs." In Proceedings of the 2015 Business and Healthcare Administration Association, edited by Deborah Gritzmacher, 145-146.

Kisling, Amy, David P. Paul, III, and Alberto Coustasse. 2015. "Assisted Living: Trends in Cost and Staffing." In Proceedings of the 2015 Business and Healthcare Administration Association, edited by Deborah Gritzmacher, 126-133.

Mathematics

B. Lynn Bodner

Bodner, B. Lynn. 2015. "Curved Islamic Star Patterns of Medieval Egypt and Syria." Conference proceedings of Bridges Baltimore 2015: Mathematics, Music, Art, Architecture, Culture, edited by Reza Sarhangi: 45-52.

Zachary Kudlak

Kostrov, Yevgeniy and Zachary Kudlak. 2015. "On a First Order Rational System of Difference Equations with Non-Constant Coefficients. Communications on Applied Nonlinear Analysis 22(3):1-24, edited by Dr. Ram Verma.

Nursing

Rose Knapp

Knapp, Rose, Ed. 2015. Hemodynamics: Made Incredibly Visual, 3rd Edition. Philadelphia: Wouter Klower.

Philosophy, Religion, and Interdisciplinary Studies

George Gonzalez

Gonzalez, George. Forthcoming, 2015. Shape-Shifting Capital: Spiritual Management, Critical Theory and the Ethnographic Project. Lanham, MD: Lexington Books.

Gonzalez, George. 2015. "The Ritualization of Consumer Capitalism: Catherine Bell's Ritual Theory, ritual Practice in the Are of Starbucks." Implicit Religion 18(1):3-44.

Alan Schwerin

Schwerin, Alan. 2015. "On Hume's Defense of Berkeley." Journal of Philosophy 5(6):327-337.

Schwerin, Alan. 2015. "On Hume's Search for a Theory of the Self." Metaphysica: Internationale Fachzeitschrift für Ontologie und Metaphysik 16(2):139-158.

Schwerin, Alan. 2015. Can the self be a brain?Principia : An International Journal of Epistemology 19(2):235-46.

Political Science and Sociology

Rekha Datta

Datta, Rekha. 2015. "The Millennium Development Goals, Gender Equality, and Empowerment in India." In Globalizing Cultures: Theories, Paradigms, Actions, edited by Vincenzo Mele and Marina Vujnovic, 353-370. Netherlands: Brill.

Saliba Sarsar

Sarsar, Saliba. 2015. Portraits: Poems of the Holy Land. Cambridge, MA: Ilora Press.

Sarsar, Saliba, and Manal Stephan. 20015. "Overcoming the Divide: Arab Women between Traditional Life and a Globalizing Culture." In Globalizing Culture: Theories, Paradigms, and Action, edited by Vincenzo Mele and Marina Vujnovic, 329-352.

Corey Lee Wrenn

Wrenn, Corey Lee. 2015. A Rational Approach to Animal Rights. New York: Palgrave Macmillan.

Wrenn, Corey Lee. 2015. "Human Supremacy, Post-Speciesist Ideology, and the Case for Anti-Colonialist Veganism." In Animals and Human Society, edited by D. L. Moorehead, 55-70. Lanham, MD: University Press of American/Hamilton Books.

Wrenn, Corey Lee. 2015. "The Weight of Veganism." In The Vegan Studies Project: Food, Animals, and Gender in the Age of Terror, edited by Laura Wright, 165-165. Athens, GA: The Univeristy of Georgia Press.

Wrenn, Corey Lee. 2016. "An Analysis of Diversity in Nonhuman Animal Rights Media." Journal for Agricultural and Environmental Ethics.

Wrenn, Corey Lee, Joanne Clark, Maddie Judge, Katharine A. Gilchrist, Delanie Woodlock, Katherine Dotson, Riva Spanos & Jonothan Wrenn. 2015 "The Medicalization of Nonhuman Animal Rights: Frame Contestation and the Exploitation of Disability." Disability and Society 30, no. 9:1307-1327.

Wrenn, Corey Lee. 2015. Review of Animal Oppression and Human Violence: Domesecration, Capitalism, and Global Conflict, by David Nibert. Between the Species 18, no. 1:112-115.

Psychological Counseling

George Kapalka

Kapalka, George. 2015. Treating Disruptive Disorders: A Guide to Psychological, Pharmacological, and Combined Treatments. New York: Routledge.

Tirrell, Matthew, and George Kapalka. 2015. "Psychological and Developmental Understanding of Self-Control, Impulsivity, and Disruptive Behaviors." In Treating Disruptive Disorders: A Guide to Psychological, Pharmacological, and Combined Treatments, edited by George Kapalka, 57-80. New York: Routledge.

Kapalka, George, and Angela Gorman. 2015. "Benefits and Challenges of Pharmacological, Psychological, and Integrated Treatments of Disruptive Behaviors." In Treating Disruptive Disorders: A Guide to Psychological, Pharmacological, and Combined Treatments, edited by George Kapalka, 2-22. New York: Routledge.

Chacko, Anil K., Nicole Feirsen, Estrella Rajwan, Amanda Zwilling, William E. Pelham, and George Kapalka. 2015. In Treating Disruptive Disorders: A Guide to Psychological, Pharmacological, and Combined Treatments, edited by George Kapalka, 71-98. New York: Routledge.

Psychology

Natalie Ciarocco

Lewandowski, G. W., Jr., Ciarocco, N., and Strohmetz, D. B. 2015. Discovering the Scientist Within: Research Methods in Psychology. Worth Publishers.

Robyn Holmes

Holmes, Robyn. 2015. "Becoming Tongan and Playing on the Mother Ground in the Classroom." Neos 7, no. 2:10-11.

Holmes, Robyn M., Lynn Romeo, Stephanie Ciraola, and Michelle Grushko. 2015. "The Relationship between Creativity, Social Play, and Children's Language Abilities." Early Child Development and Care 185 no. 7: 1180-1197.

Gary Lewandowski

Lewandowski, G. W., Jr., Ciarocco, N., and Strohmetz, D. B. 2015. Discovering the Scientist Within: Research Methods in Psychology. Worth Publishers.

Acri, L., and Lewandowski, G. W., Jr. 2015. "The Influence of the Self in Partner Behavior Interpretation." Modern Psychological Studies 20:15-30.

McIntyre, K. P., Mattingly, B. A., Lewandowski, G. W., Jr., and Simpson, A. 2015. "When "We" Changes "Me": The Two-dimensional Model of Relational Self-change and Relationship Outcomes." Journal of Social and Personal Relationships 32: 857-878.

Lewandowski, G. W., Jr., Strohmetz, D. B. & Ciarocco, N. 2015. "Essentials of Experimental Psychology." JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments. doi: 10.3791/10169

Lewandowski, G. W., Jr. January 2015. "The Biology of Cheating." Refinery 29.

Lewandowski, G. W., Jr. January 2015. "Students Separated from their Phones Do Worse on Tests." Business Insider.

Lewandowski, G. W., Jr. April 2015. "What Is the Secret to a Great Relationship." Digital Romance.

Lewandowski, G. W., Jr. April 2015. "Science Figured Out the Type of Person Who Falls In Love the Fastest." Business Insider.

Lewandowski, G. W., Jr. May 2015. "The One That Will Get You through a Bad Breakup." Refinery 29.

Lewandowski, G. W., Jr. June 2015. "Breaking-Up Better: Why Your Break-Up Won't Destroy You." Digital Romance.

Lewandowski, G. W., Jr. June 2015. "The Psychology of Flirtation: How to Know When Someone Is Interested." The Independent.

Lewandowski, G. W., Jr., and B. M. Mattingly. August 2015. "36 Questions to Get to Know Yourself Better - Imperfections and All." Elle Magazine.

Lewandowski, G. W., Jr. November 2015. "Wedding Bells or Single Again: Psychology Predicts Where Your Relationship Is Headed." IFLScience.com.

David Strohmetz

Lewandowski, G. W., Jr., Ciarocco, N., and Strohmetz, D. B. 2015. Discovering the Scientist Within: Research Methods in Psychology. Worth Publishers.

Rosnow, R. S., and Strohmetz. 2015. "Experimenter and Subject Artifacts: Methodology." In International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd edition, Vol. 8, edited by James Wright, 571-575. Amsterdam: Elsevier.

Strohmetz, David B., Beverly Dolinsky, Rajiv S. Jhangiani, Donelle C. Posey, Erin E. Hardin, Vivian Shyu, and Eric Klein. 2015. "The skillful major: Psychology curricula in the 21st century." Scholarship Of Teaching And Learning In Psychology 1(3): 200-207.

Social Work

Linda Whitfield-Spinner

Whitfield-Spinner, Linda. 2015. Our Roots Run Deep: The Cobby Moore Lineage. Xlibris.

Speech Pathology, Educational Counseling and Leadership

Antonio G. Estudillo

Castillo, Yuleinys A., and Antonio G. Estudillo. 2015. "Undergraduate Research: An Essential Piece for Underrepresented Students’ College Success." In Special Issue: Inclusion of Students from Historically Underrepresented Groups in Undergraduate Research, edited by Buffie Longmire-Avital. Perspectives on Undergraduate Research and Mentoring (PURM) 4.1:1-15.

Tina R. Paone

Paone, Tina R., Krista M. Malott, and Jason J. Barr. 2015. "Assessing the Impact of a Race-Based Course on Counseling Students: A Quantitative Study." Journal Of Multicultural Counseling & Development 43, no. 3: 206-220.

Malott, Krista M., Tina R. Paone, Scott Schaefle, Jennifer Cates, and Breyan Haizlip. 2015. "Expanding White Racial Identity Theory: A Qualitative Investigation of Whites Engaged in Antiracist Action." Journal Of Counseling & Development 93, no. 3: 333-343.

Paone, Tina R., Krista M. Malott, Jiabao Gao, and Grace Kinda. 2015. "Using Sandplay to Address Students’ Reactions to Multicultural Counselor Training." International Journal Of Play Therapy 24, no. 4: 190-204.

Malott, Krista M., Tina R. Paone, Scott Schaefle, and Jiabao Gao. 2015. "Is it Racist? Addressing Racial Microaggressions in Counselor Training." Journal Of Creativity In Mental Health 10, no. 3: 386-398.

Pietro Sasso

Devitis, Joseph L. and Pietro Sasso. 2015. Higher Education and society. New York: Peter Lang Ag.

Sasso, Pietro and Devitis, Joseph L. 2015. Today's College Students: A Reader. New York: Peter Lang.

World Languages and Culture

Priscilla Gac-Artigas

Gac-Artigas, Priscilla. 2015. “El ruido de las cosas al caer o la reconstrucción de una era.” Revista de la Academia Norteamericana de la Lengua Española (RANLE) 7:165-180.

Gac-Artigas, Priscilla. 2015. “The Electoral Process And The Future Of Higher Education In The US.” The Hispanic Outlook in Higher Education, 26(3):18-21.

Student Publications

Notes Never Sent: Extraordinary Events Stamp the Course of an Otherwise Ordinary Life by Morissa Schwartz
ISBN: 9781939670212

Monmouth University Authors

2015 Books By Monmouth Authors

Julius O. Adekunle

Nahid Aslanbeigui and Guy Oakes

Kenneth L. Campbell

Pedram Daneshgar

Heide Estes

George Gonzalez

Walter Greason, William Gorman, Melissa Ziobro

George Kapalka

Rose Knapp

Gary Lewandowski, David Strohmetz, and Natalie Ciarocco

Allen E. Milewski, Barbara T. Reagor, Robert S. Bekefi, William F. Tepfenhart, and Lauren C. Landrigan

Mihaela Moscaliuc

Michael A. Palladino

Maryanne A. Rhett

Saliba Sarsar

Pietro Sasso

Richard A. Stein

Marina Vujnovic

Linda Whitfield-Spinner

Kenneth Womack

Corey Lee Wrenn

Departments

Accounting

Art and Design

Biology

Chemistry and Physics

Communication

Computer Science and Software Engineering

Criminal Justice

Curriculum and Instruction

Economics, Finance and Real Estate

English

Health and Physical Education

History and Anthropology

Library

Management and Decision Sciences

Marketing and International Business

Mathematics

Nursing

Philosophy, Religion, and Interdisciplinary Studies

Political Science and Sociology

Psychological Counseling

Psychology

Social Work

Speech Pathology, Educational Counseling and Leadership

World Languages and Culture

Student Publications